We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great B B Q” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goode Company Barbeque

Goode Company Barbeque
Ranked #24 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everybody loves an original, and you're not likely to find too many things more original than this. It would be an understatement to call the Goode Company Barbeque on Kirby a Houston institution. It's a tradition that has stood the test of time.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great B B Q”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

if you are looking for good and tasty barbeque look no further this place is wonderful!!!never have I had a bad meal here

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    269
    151
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in the West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been going to Goode Company Barbecue for over 20 years. There certainly are plenty of other good BBQ places in Houston since, after all, this is Texas. But Goode Company on Kirby is my place, and I like theirs the best. I have taken quite a few friends from out of town there, and they all loved it. My personal favorite is a chicken dinner with rice and cole slaw, but they have so much other great stuff sometimes it's hard to choose. I like the way the place is run, too. The people who work there are always friendly, and they always give you exactly what you want. And by the way, if you want some great fajitas or enchiladas, just go across the street to their Taqueria. No, they didn't pay me to write this. I just love eating their food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PFT56067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“New Year's Day party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Got take out for a New Year's Day party. Asked to pick it up at noon. They were just about finished slicing and packing it up. Nice to know it was good and fresh. Everyone enjoyed it very much!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jillhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“GR8T BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I highly recommend the bbq & ribs. Great smoke flavor and taste. I recommend that after your meal you order some to go because this makes an excellent late night snack.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Albert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Goode is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Goode Company BBQ never disappoints. Food is always finger licking good. Atmosphere says Texas.and I like that.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goode Company Barbeque also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goode Company Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing