We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just another Barbeque joint”

Goode Company Barbeque
Ranked #22 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everybody loves an original, and you're not likely to find too many things more original than this. It would be an understatement to call the Goode Company Barbeque on Kirby a Houston institution. It's a tradition that has stood the test of time.
USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not just another Barbeque joint”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Besides Tex Mex, Houston does not have a shortage of Barbeque restaurants. Still Goode stands above most. Everyone has a favorite and I won't tell you mine is the sausage. This isa place to take the family without going to the ATM first.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    275
    154
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex Fells, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My Houston Tradition”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Houston has a wealth of great BBQ restaurants. Ask any native and you will most likely get a good recommendation for their favorite. Mine, discovered back in the early 80's when I lived there is Goode Company BBQ. The Texas brisket is juicy, tender and tasty. I love the puffy jalapeno bread and the atmosphere of the place, inside and outside. True Texas experience. I'm hooked on the brisket so I can't speak for the chicken and sausage which looks great, but I always lose it when it come to the brisket and have to have it. Sides are good, I like the beans and potato salad. I've often fantasized about flying to Houston just to dine at Goode Company but now they offer a cheaper option--online site where you can have their food shipped to you. I'll have to try it, but my place just isn't the Texan haven that Goode Company is.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WCiardiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Get the duck”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The ribs and brisket are very good, but the duck is spectacular. It's the first time I've seen duck at a Texas barbeque and it is melt in your mouth good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank craighdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Brisket”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If your looking for great smoked Brisket, Goode Company is the place for you. I also found there sides terrific, the potato salad was great the beans are to die for and don't leave without getting a slice of pecan pie !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Definitely one of the best BBq places in town, I cater from this place ofter and their food is great

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mauriciotorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goode Company Barbeque also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Goode Company Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing