We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*****Gave it a second chance and glad I did *****”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Canyon Cafe - CLOSED

Canyon Cafe
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“*****Gave it a second chance and glad I did *****”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ok after my review in April I was invited to try this place again, which I did yesterday. The service was amazing the food was very good, slightly under seasoned for my taste but very good. The chips are addictive.

I would like to thank the manager for the wonderful service we received. I'm glad I gave it a second chance it was worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    57
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BEST KEPT SECRET!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We eat here monthly and enjoy our meal each and every time we come. The food is absolutely delicious! The service is outstanding. We always have to buy a bag of chips (especially the won tons) to take home and enjoy to hold us over until our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baseballmom2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Popped in for a snack and had a lovely experience - beers were oh-so-cold and then decided to have the table avocado - guacamole prepared in front of you with chips. Lovely fresh fragrances and the variety of chips added to the overall good taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonCafe, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Cafe, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We hope that you will come again soon and try one of our specialties like our Flip N Sizzle Fajitas or our Limit-2 Margaritas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Eat elsewhere!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went with a friend for a quick dinner last night, food was bland, service was poor. Thank goodness for the chips or we would have left so hungry. I ordered the blackened salmon ceasar salad, the only thing blackened was my mood from the tiniest piece of tasteless over cooked, regular grilled salmon under the disguise of being blackened. The waiter was lethargic and best and would rather have been anywhere else than serving us. When asked how the meal was, in a tone that told my companion and I that he really didn't care and was just going through the motions, we told him the food was tasteless and bland. He just said in a very bored tone "can I get you something else". We had enough by then and wanted him to take the plates and leave us alone.

The manager came by earlier and asked 'how was everything" we said OK and that was good enough for her. If the manager has such low standards then why should I give them my hard earned money for a poorly cooked and seasoned meal and poor service to top it off.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Versailles2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Favorite Houston Southwestern Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

With fast and friendly service, and better than average food, the Canyon Cafe is a favorite place for a good business lunch. Pretty good salsa and chips, as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanyonCafe, Public Relations Manager at Canyon Cafe, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Cafe also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing