We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best around the globe”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tokyo Bowl

Tokyo Bowl
Ranked #1,083 of 8,150 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Clear Lake
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best around the globe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I don't know why someone said all the good sushi chefs have gone elsewhere. Jay and his staff have been making THE MOST CREATIVE sushi since they were located on El Comino Blvd. It is a small restaurant and they like it that way and so do I! It is not you average sushi it's creative and exciting.
The staff is welcoming and because it is small they are always available and ready to serve. Believe me it is worth the drive. I have traveled to everywhere but Japan (which is a completely different way of sushi) and nothing compares!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheShortList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We have been dining at Toyko Bowl for several years. I have to admit that I liked it much better before the remodel. It was more traditional. That being said, the sushi is fantastic! I also LOVE the seaweed salad! The service can be a bit inconsistent but overall it is worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We love their sushi, specially the salmon skin handrolls. The eel is wonderful too.

Helpful?
Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I looks like a whole in the wall with a very crowded dining area but the sushi is awesome as the owners add their own flair such as a spicy sauce "Jays Hot Sauce". A nice dish is the Karai Don which is a mixture of sashimi on a bed of rice, all smothered in the hot sauce - you will go through several glasses of tea eating this but it is worth it!

The only negative thing is that service tends to be a bit slow when it is very busy (pretty much anytime after 7 pm on the weekends) but the food and demeanor of the people make up for it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Preston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Traditional Japanese with best sushi in Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

For more than a decade, Tokyo has been out favorite restaurant of any kind in metropolitan Houston. My wife travels to Japan on business regularly and has been able to monitor how Tokyo Bowl stacks up to its only real competition - the traditional little restaurants you find on the streets of Tokyo - especially near the famous Tsukiji Fish Market.

In the U.S., the only real competition for the quality/freshness of Tokyo Bowl's sushi is (in my opinion) Sushi Main Street in Half Moon Bay, CA http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g32469-d376263-Reviews-Sushi_Main_Street-Half_Moon_Bay_California.html. In Houston, I find Ginza on San Felipe to be the next best thing to Tokyo Bowl.

Tokyo Bowl consistently delivers really fantastic sushi in a small, traditional Japanese restaurant. The owners are wonderful people who really get to know and take good care of the regulars - who are frequently folks from NASA or the Japanese Space Agency (JAXA).

The lunch crowd is typically aerospace people. At dinner there are 3 groups we see regularly. First there are 20 somethings out on dates or dining as a group pre/post concert/movie/ultimate frisbee/etc. Then there are a number of young families with kids and finally there are usually several tables of empty nesters or older singles.

Unlike alot of faux cool/trendy places - the kind that changes its menu every 20 minutes to stay on top of the hottest trends - all of these groups are welcome and treated well. The owners make it work for all of them.

The other thing I should mention is that Tokyo Bowl is kind of a bargain. Sushi's not cheap in general, but the prices at Tokyo Bowl are as low as I've seen anywhere ($1.50-$1.75/pc). And the only places I've seen comparable quality sushi, the prices have been a multiple of what we pay at Tokyo Bowl. Now I'll grant you that the only competition (from my POV) is located in much pricier locations (SF Bay Area and Tokyo), but still I feel pretty good about getting a good deal when a family of 5 eats for ~$120 with tip...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtypicalTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Bowl also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tokyo Bowl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing