We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dim sum experience!”
Review of Ocean Palace

Ocean Palace
Ranked #545 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dim sum experience!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was taken to this restaurant with large group of family having never had the food before. I was fortunate to have someone who could speak the language of most of the serving staff (though they seemed very polite and willing to help someone without experience in the type of food) and right away the serving carts were wheeled down the aisle. Each cart had different types of food, all of which I have never eaten before. Everything was delicious, hot, and unique to me. I really hope to return to this restaurant to experience new dishes that I had to pass up because of being so full. I highly recommend stopping by!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malarkey4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dim Sum Fix”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Too many choices in the Bellaire chinatown area and so little time, so we return to Ocean Palace to get our dim sum fix every 3-4 months. It's like the McDonald's of dim sum, predictable but you know what you're going to get (Fung's Kitchen more intimate and authentic Cantonese). We do like the loud boisterous atmosphere, especially when we bring guests new to the dim sum experience. They bring you to table and give you a small clipboard. When the ladies with the carts come by and you select a dish, they stamp the clipboard. There are 5 price levels, ranging from about $2.20 for a small dish, $2.95 for med, $3.95 for large, $5.15 for Supreme (tripes, pork blood, chicken and mushroom rice wrapped in lotus leaf, Chinese broccoli) and $6.25 for Specialty dishes (usually the dishes you order from station at back or specialty meats like duck or crab claws). Of course, for the uninitiated they have no idea which dish is which, so just choose what looks and sounds good. We are a family of 5 with a bottomless pit teenage son, and we usually order 2-3 dishes to go too, and we never get out for under $60-$70, which is a little over $12 per person, so not bad for Sunday brunch. However, we were there this past Sunday, very disappointed with "fun gor" dumpling, the dough was waayy too thick (should be translucent, almost see through) and we got there late at 12:45 and they were sold out of the golden baked, not doughy white steamed, pork buns :( . We order extras to freeze for the kids to grab quick breakfast or snack (microwave about 30 secs). All in all, have not had bad experience. Service is actually polite as far as waitstaff serving to mostly Asian patrons (usually much more blunt and rude), and they could go much lighter on the MSG (waayy too much MSG!!). We are usually comatose on the ride home, so if you are allergic to MSG, beware.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spacecitygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Chinese broccoli is so delicious! They also have the largest boiled shrimp I have ever seen. The wait staff, though a little difficult to comprehend and understand caters to your party pretty well, even when it's a large group. As long as your patient with them, they seem to be patient with you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmsoto2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
“Dim Sum”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Huge restaurant, good price and big variety of dim sum.
Many locals have brunch in this restaurant where you choose directly from carts pushed by Chinese employees. There is also a great variety of hot teas to accompany the dim sum.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inmuebles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good place for Dim Sum - price a little high”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Travel to Houston and try to venture for some authentic foods. This restaurant is in the heart of the Vietnamese town (HongKong IV market). Very crowded, must wait for a table. Come early if you would like to have a parking space or table quickly. Dim Sum are great the foods are very authentic. There are 3 way to get foods to your table: 1. wait for the dim sum cart to roll around to your table .... this might be something you must plan (sit in the deep inside table on the right where the kitchen door is so that you can get the first choice of the foods when it just come out. The worse area is the left front of the restaurant where the cart has to pass through every one before get to you ...... therefore most of the good plate has been gone before you). 2. Get your ticket and walk to the end of the restaurant where the bar is and get some of the items there, caution: when you go, your table would not be able to get any new item from the rolling cart because the ticket is with you. 3. Ask the waiter/waitress to bring the item to your table (you must know what you are asking for if you decided to use this method ... plus may be a little more tips at the end ..... you ask them to do extra for you ... just to be fair).

Prices are a little more expensive than other dim sum restaurants in the area but the portion is good for each item.

I really like the shrimp xiu mai

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thanh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Palace also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ocean Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing