We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feel like family”
Review of The Breakfast Klub

The Breakfast Klub
Ranked #15 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Midtown
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“feel like family”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Long lines welcome you as half the city appears to wait for this southern home style breakfast. Friendly staff and good food went on a Sunday and enjoyed catfish and grits and I hate catfish but this was their signature along with chicken and waffles.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussU2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    162
    56
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit Mi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Breakfast around”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Let me tell you, I was looking for a quick bite to eat for the family before a day a the houston museum of natural science. Showed up at about 10 am on a monday and was greeted by a 10 minute wait which usually is a deal breaker for me. There was something about this place. Was it the local paintings on the wall? Was it the serve your self almost cafeteria-esque set up? Maybe it was the vibrant mix of all ethnicities sharing a moment in time over a plate of food. I got the breakfast special. Bacon was outstanding thick and had no fat. Perfectly cooked. Eggs were as was the texas toast they serve with the meal. Wife had chicken and waffles. All I can say is foodgasm. It was the first time I was packed full in houston. I was full of food and love and washed it out with a cup of coffee. Stop here you will not regret it. A little pricey but I have found you get what you pay for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheReviewer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the French Toast!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I went here for breakfast while in town on business. What a great way to start the day! I certainly didn't need to eat again until dinner. This was the best french toast I've ever had. I would like to come back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aggiebeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Are you in the Klub?”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My girlfriend is from Houston and said we had to try this place. It did not disappoint. We heard about the line, so we got there around 8, right when they open. We didn't wait long at all. I ordered the catfish and grits, my husband ordered the chicken and waffles. The "katfish" as they call it was awesome as well as the rest of breakfast. Now my husband has eaten at Roscoe's chicken and waffles in CA, so he compared the two. He says the chicken here is better and the waffles at Roscoe’s are better. All in all we enjoyed eating here. It's a no frills kind of place. If you’re in Houston, I'd say stop in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maihoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfort Food”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had just gotten into town for a visit to Houston and was looking for a place to eat on the way to explore the city. From all the positive reviews from Tripadvisor, I decided to stop here. Parking can be a bit hectic and I had to wait until someone left so I could take their parking spot. From what I understand, there is typically a line around the corner of the building. They do have outdoor heaters for chilly days and they have a hostess that will show you the menu and present the special of the day while you wait. Because the place stays packed and I was by myself, I had to share a table with strangers. No big deal, I guess. Service was prompt and friendly and they have decent portions. You do have to get things like silverware, napkins, coffee and condiments yourself. Food was good (not spectacular) but a bit overpriced in my opinion. Great atmosphere though. Decent place if you are in the area but I wouldn't go out of my way to experience. Slightly overrated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakfast Klub also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Breakfast Klub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing