We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - best of the best - anywhere”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Rainbow Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $120
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Cross street: East TC Jester
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place - best of the best - anywhere”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I’ve dined at Rainbow Lodge for many years and it is by far one of my most favorite restaurants! This place is truly one of a kind with its unique setting and atmosphere. Where else can relax and dine in a cozy log cabin, right in the middle of Houston. There is a variety of great places you can dine, be it next to a window, fireplace, log cabin rooms, bar or patio. They are all perfect and accommodating. All of the food is tasty and mouthwateringly delicious. My favorite is the croissant bread pudding for dessert. It has been on the menu for over 30 years and is to die for! There is an extensive wine list for all budgets where you are sure to find what you are looking for. Friendly, attentive, helpful and knowledgeable service every step of the way from beginning to end, from every employee! Complementary valet parking, live music on Friday nights, and Sunday brunch offers 99 cent mimosas followed by half price wines by the glass that evening! You just can’t go wrong! Overall, dining here is always a delightful experience that I would recommend to anyone seeking a truly outstanding restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edcmoverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    74
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for a special event.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Love this place -
I’ve dined at Rainbow Lodge for many years and it is by far one of my most favorite restaurants! This place is truly one of a kind with its unique setting and atmosphere. Where else can relax and dine in a cozy log cabin, right in the middle of Houston. There is a variety of great places you can dine, be it next to a window, fireplace, log cabin rooms, bar or patio. They are all perfect and accommodating. All of the food is tasty and mouthwateringly delicious. My favorite is the croissant bread pudding for dessert. It has been on the menu for over 30 years and is to die for! There is an extensive wine list for all budgets where you are sure to find what you are looking for. Friendly, attentive, helpful and knowledgeable service every step of the way from beginning to end, from every employee! Complementary valet parking, live music on Friday nights, and Sunday brunch offers 99 cent mimosas followed by half price wines by the glass that evening! You just can’t go wrong! Overall, dining here is always a delightful experience that I would recommend to anyone seeking a truly outstanding restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edcmoverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antionio
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Old and New friends”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Met at Rainbow Lodge suggested by a new friend. Had off the menu red fish with a medley of vegtebles. The chef brough out an appitizer plate with buffalo tartar, which was very good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rainbow Lodge "a wee pot O' gold"”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I are traveling Nurses working in various cities and states since 2005 and this restaurant was every thing we look for when dining out. It has a rustic "hunting Lodge" atmosphere with great courteous service. The ample wine list includes some nice varietals and after dinner treats. The food was rich and filling. The wild game sampler was the reason we went to the Rainbow Lodge and we were not disappointed in the least. We were very happy to find this little gem and I am sure we will be making our way back again and again.
I understand they have a great lunch service as well.... I wonder what we are doing for lunch today....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sealy, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a company party there”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was really nice. The staff was great and the food was equally great. Great food. If I lived closer, I'd be back often.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lodge also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing