We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant service, terrific food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Rainbow Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $120
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Cross street: East TC Jester
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Elegant service, terrific food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you have some extra money to spend then do yourself a favor and visit Rainbow Lodge. They feature many game meats on the menu, but also have more traditional fare for people less adventurous. The food is outstanding, service first rate and bar selection impressive. The only criticism would be the prices, but like they say you get what you pay for.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    71
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“WOW...Just Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Went last night- had a couple of OUTSTANDING drinks at the bar... Then it was time to Feast! We started with the Taste of the Wild (Mmm), then I opted for the Houston Restaurant Week Menu w/wine paring(s) while DH went with the regular menu... So we recieved a second app- Smoked Lamb Belly w/corn salsa, fingerling potato salad, & a BBQ sauce (perfection!!!)... Then I had the Cumin Rubbed Beef with a corn rizzoto & DH had the Bison Special, served w/asparagus & fingerling potatoes. We split my order of Bread Pudding for dessert & were in Heaven! Service was FANTASTIC- not too stuffy, nor overbearing, yet very helpful when questions arose... Even the bread & butter were worth a mention! Overall, a Superb Dining Experience! Lovely Place (sadly, it was raining, so we couldn't really tour the grounds), Lovely Food, Lovely Service (bar staff & valet, Front of the House, Waitstaff, EVERYONE!)... Probably my new Favorite Establishment in Houston! Will def return, with friends & visitors in tow!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely Devine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

It had been a few years since we had been to the Rainbow Lodge. My wife surprised me for our anniversary and made the reservations. Our evening also coincided with Houston Restaurant Weeks (which benefits the Houston Food Bank). We had a three course meal. My first course was the Slow Smoked Duck Gumbo with Andouille Sausage. She had the Griddled Gulf Shrimp. Both of them were absolutely delicious. The main course consisted of Bourbon and Texas Peach Glazed Suckling Pig with a Sweet Potato Bread Pudding (more like a savory sweet potato bread pudding, but not a traditional bread pudding). It was excellent. I had the Chile and Cumin Dusted Beef Shoulder Tender (medium rare). It was very tender and cooked perfectly. For dessert, we had the Croissant Bread Pudding (a must have) and the Texas Peach Upside Down Cake (also delicious but I liked the Bread Pudding better). The service was excellent. The restaurant itself is in an old log cabin style house that is 100 years old. There are several large taxidermy game animals hanging throughout. The place is very rustic. Excellent place to dine. We will go back soon. We had forgotten how great this place really is. I have no problems giving it a 5-star rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasAccent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

A friend took me to lunch and I was so impressed with everything about this restaurant. The host overheard my cell phone was dying and charged it while I ate lunch. My friend and I both were "handed down" the 2 steps with true grace. The buffalo short ribs were amazing and the wine suggested by the waiter was a perfect pairing. The landscaping and view are lovely and the decor is fun and real Texas. I would love to go back on my next visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2ManageVets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty setting and great wine tastings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Such a fun venue for their "BIG" wine tastings. Ten stations set up all over the beautiful grounds. Great wine and foods. Their Wednesday patio tastings are fun too.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ohsusanna733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lodge also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing