We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Yummy After All These Years!”
Review of Cafe Adobe - CLOSED

Cafe Adobe
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still Yummy After All These Years!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I rcently introduced my friend from Harlingen to my favorite Mexican Restaurant in Houston and he ws impressed! This has been my favorite for at least 20 years....same crispy chips, same delicious cheese enchiladas...with Ranchero sauce, of course! I love to sit on the little outdoor patio near the fountain. Ah, one of the pleasures of Houston dining!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blinngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Consistently good.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is one of our two go-to Mexican restaurants. We always love the food. Basically, you can't go wrong here. I usually get the cheese enchiladas. Margaritas here are better than average. This location is big, with a large adjacent parking lot. It's got a great event space upstairs (but no elevator access). The upstairs patio is always fun.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank museblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CLEAN KITCHEN - GREAT FOOD & ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Dinners can tell a lot about a restaurant by walking through the kitchen. I discovered this gem of Southwestern culinary delight as a meter reader nearly 30 years ago. The electric meter was in the kitchen at that time and I entered the building well before opening time to find a thoroughly pristine kitchen and affable staff. I’ve had a love affair with the place ever since.

The menu is easy to navigate. Presentation is pleasing to the eye and portions are sensible, without encouraging gluttony. Don’t be surprised if there’s an open parking space next to a Ferrari. Few restaurants surpass Café Adobe for atmosphere at these prices.

Out-of-towners will find themselves near the most stately neighborhoods in Houston, River Oaks and Rice University, the always entertaining night life in the Montrose, and world class shopping at the Galleria.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great chicken”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

had some of the best fajitas ever @ the location in Sugarland.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank MattRC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“O...K....”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I'd tend to agree with other reviewers - Adobe has definitely changed since they expanded. Like so many other restaurants, this results in badly trained and inexperienced staff and inferior service more often than not. Having said that, the Adobe honey shrimp is still one of the best dishes I've tasted. Recommended if you want something without frills.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Adobe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing