We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good pizza.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Pizza 2

Star Pizza 2
Ranked #544 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Star is probably Houston's best non-chain pizza places. Everything is made fresh, even their dressings. Love the creative menu and the quality of the food. That is something other places lack. Staff is quirky and energetic, but fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RLJ_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the great review RLJ! We're glad you enjoy the service, pizza, dressings, and menu!

- Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    10
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“IMHO: Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I love Star Pizza. Amazing food and good service. We eat here 1-2x a month. It's always hot and ready for pick up. Delivery service is great too. Be sure to ask for cheese/peppers when you order if you get delivery. Sometimes the drivers don't have it if you don't ask for it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JennSHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks again for the great review Jenn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza N Houston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was skeptical during my first trip to Star Pizza, because I was told they were the Best Pizza in town. Well to my Surprise, they Truly Are! I've had pizza from all over the country, and this comes close to one of the best pizzas I've ever had. Looking forward to returning my next visit to Houston!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 20_FamilyTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for the great review, especially since you're a Chi-town native! Y'all run pizza as far as we're concerned!
Hope to see you back in Houston!

Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I've been going to Start Pizza for years, this is easily the best pizza Houston, TX has to offer. Toppings are always fresh, and delicious. Prices are reasonable for the quality you get.

I love their craft beer selection, they always have the harder to find Saint Arnolds beers (like Divine Reserve)

During the weekdays they have a lunch buffet that's awesome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mm54943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for the great review MM! We're glad you've enjoyed our pizza and beer selection for years!

As far as us getting Saint Arnold's special releases (beers), that should continue for years to come! After all we were their first commercial account!

Thanks again!

Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Classic Houston. Definitely some of the best pizza this city has. Try the roasted garlic with bread - it's amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review and suggestion Frances!

Benjamin and Hank Zwirek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza 2 also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing