We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good pizza!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Pizza 2

Star Pizza 2
Ranked #390 of 7,885 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good pizza!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The pizza and salads are awesome!! Our family love eating all star pizza!! We all like the old Victorian style house look!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vato31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thanks for stopping by Vato! We're glad you enjoy our pizza and salads! Make sure and give us a visit sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's been a while since I've been here for pizza. Wish they were closer because I would always get my pizza here for those lazy movie nights. Great variety and fresh tasting ingredients. I live for pizza, and this place has never disappointed. The wheat crust is so delicious!

Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
HoustonTraveler1, thank you for stopping by and for the great review! Please come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Houston Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Star has great pizza and other pub-style Italian dishes; very good beer selections, including micro-brews; always a winner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you Bill for stopping by and the great review! We're glad you liked the pizza as well as our selection of beers. Don't be a stranger, stop on by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“You have not had great pizza unless you've had Star Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My sister took me to this pizzeria and promised that i would not regret breaking my diet over this pizza. She was right! This is by far the best pizza I have EVER had, besides my own home made of course!

Great atmosphere, great service, great pizza!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you Norma for stopping by and for the great review! And we'd also like to thank your sister for suggesting us to you! We're definitely glad y'all enjoyed your meals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Husband & I decided to try it out after reading reviews. We were not disappointed! Will definitely return even with the hour long drive.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vandtmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza 2, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thanks Vandtmann for driving so far to come eat our pizza! We really can't tell you how much we appreciate that. Don't be a stranger, stop on by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza 2 also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing