We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Pizza option”
Review of Star Pizza

Star Pizza
Ranked #129 of 8,310 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Description: Established in 1976 In the summer of 1976, Henry "Hank" Zwirek and his buddy, Ed, both native Chicagoans, grew tired of living in the windy city and relocated to Houston. Hank realized the burgeoning city lacked high quality pizza and delivery service (which was a norm in Chicago). Acting on Hank's instincts, the two purchased a quaint two-story house on Norfolk and in October of 1976, a Star (pizza) was born.Business continued to thrive and Hank was eager to expand. In the summer of 1988 a second Star was born, affectionately named Star 2. The offspring of the original was located at 140 S. Heights Blvd. in the building that's now home to Chatter's.The original Star is still located in the house on Norfolk, and continues to offer the same homely atmosphere as it did in 1976. To this day the Zwirek family owns and operates both locations and thanks their loyal Star Pizzanites for their support throughout the years.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great counter service, excellent pizza and salads. A bit pricey but good quality and not a national chain. Love it

Thank 1999Spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thanks for stopping by 1999Spurs! We're glad you and the family enjoyed the pizza, and service.

Hope to see y'all back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Star Pizza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 228 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pizza is always hot and fresh. If you place your oreder over the phone prior to arrival (which I suggest because it can take 30 minutes or more to get your pizza) they have a record of your last order so you don't have to repeat it if you are ordering the same thing. The patio is nice. I would love it if they served wings and frozen drinks but this is still a great place to eat pizza.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CHEVALIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for the great review Chevalia! Definitely will take the chicken wing suggestion into account.. Personally, I'm a a HUGE chicken wings fan so it wouldn't be a stretch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My new favorite place for lunch with co-workers. Best pizza in town is contantly bringing out fresh Pizza's. Keep in mind they will not bring out the speciality pizza's. But, best tasting Pizza in Houston, especially for a buffet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for the great review Lesley!
We're glad you enjoy our buffet as we're always trying to keep the quality as high as possible!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I invented the Jewish holiday Erev Pizza. it marks the end of Passover when we can't eat leaven breads or drink beer. At sundown, on the last day of Passover.....we head to Star for pizza. Good Pizza, but not quick. The pizza is made by hand and takes time. Worth the wait.

1  Thank RxDir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Love this review and love the Erev Pizza Holiday RxDir! This is easily the most creative and unique reviews we have ever read.

See you in April!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Star Pizza provides freshly made pizzas of all types but their specialty is thick crust Chicago style pizzas. We went late on a Saturday afternoon and the place was still 80% full. It looked like they were short handed but the wait staff did not allow service to be compromised.
There also is a good selection of beers at reasonable prices.

Thank acrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hank Z, Owner at Star Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thanks for stopping by Acrami! We're glad you enjoyed our deep dish pizza as well as our beer selection. Hope to see you back in here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Pizza also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Star Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing