We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service But Food Average and Expensive”
Review of Cafe Lili

Cafe Lili
Ranked #299 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek, Lebanese
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Service But Food Average and Expensive”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We eat a lot of Middle Eastern food in Houston and we were excited to try another place marketed as a Lebanese Grill. Parking in this large strip center on Westheimer is free and adequate. Service warm and friendly from beginning to end. Food selection limited. Food delivery quick. Flavors and taste Middle Eastern but not dramatic as in other venues. Custard for dessert very good. Coffee fresh, hot and authentic Lebanese. Costs above average for similar foods in similar restaurants with better selection and flavors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Mediterranean Food”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I used to go here once a week before I changed my lunch habits and now go more occasionally. They have the best humus I have ever had anywhere. Family owned and better than ever based on a recent dinner on the way home from a movie.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best grilled redfish in the Western world”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a family-run restaurant not far from the Galleria in Houston. It isn't big, it isn't fancy, and I know that it serves other main courses than the grilled redfish...but we never have tried anything else. We live 200+ miles away, and try to go here when we're in Houston. The first time we walked in, essentially every table had the grilled redfish in front of them.

They supposedly only have the redfish on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and we have been told it's a good idea to call them and see if they happen to have it that evening.

Now, about that fish: It is grilled "on the half-shell", which means that the fillet is left on the skin, scales and all. It has a mildly spicy, reddish rub on it, and it is exquisitely done. Every time we've had it, it has been perfect. The meat lifts from the skin with the fork and melts in the mouth. it's served with some spiced rice, which is ok, but sort of superfluous. Last evening we had hummus, baba ganoush and a "half-salad" which was enough for two.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Have been going to Cafe Lili for over 20 years”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The food is all prepared a la minute, and you can taste the freshness and crunchiness starting with the taboule all wholesome, nothing soggy and acidic from long waiting food for customers, here it is freshly chopped and served. The hummus smooth and consistent alone or on top of meats, kebabs chicken. Everything exquisitely prepared, from the simple falafel, crispy light and flaky, to the more elaborate and varied daily specials to be tried and surprised.

The exceptional dishes for lebanese is the 'ful' anytime, the kibbe naye (meat tartare) on Saturdays, the fish on Thursdays. Everything is very good on it's own or as a side, like the rice with toasted noodles, or meats or even yoghurt with mint and cucumber. It is to taste and to mix, and one finds one's own favorites. Good food is always in the ingredients, good oil, freshness and preparation. It is reliable and quality and for a cafe a very extensive menu, always fun to revisit, a must go to place !!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridaBetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“mmmm... hummus”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

They have delicious hummus and I could eat it all day long. This is a great little cafe for lunches and the food is quite authentic. The prices are a little high, but I think the quality of the food is also pretty high. I really enjoy the Turkish coffee that they serve after your meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLE04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lili also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lili? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing