We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but something is off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark's American Cuisine - CLOSED

Mark's American Cuisine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Cross street: Dunlavy Street
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great food but something is off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We had a retirement party at Mark's food ( appetizer, entree and desert), portion, service, wine are excellent. A bit of expensive however ingredients are fresh, food is tasty presentation is simply elegant not too distracting like a upscale restaurant should be. We were 'self valet' by mistake but did not get into trouble. Overall it is a pretty decent restaurent. Somehow I cannot help to think something is off. The atomsphere seems to be ambient. Probably it could be the location of our seatings. Though the lighting are low, I do not feel this resturant as a romantic kind.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leo88copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    69
    40
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bjx
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Too spicy too much food, didn't like it
Don't waste your money. The service is very professional. It was a church and its a beautiful place.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 000000bjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

For a number of years now, Mark's has been our family's favorite restaurant in Houston. We especially enjoy having the private room where we sit at a round table under the rosette window. It is so lovely in there! We have celebrated a great many special occasions at Mark's - and we have enjoyed dining there for no special occasion at all, other than to indulge in the wonderful food.

We were just there last weekend and, once again, were impressed with the outstanding food, service and wine selections. We had the tasting menu with the wine pairings and ran out of words to express how absolutely delicious it was. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
183 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The service was perfect and a wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went there for a celebration and was pleased how beautiful the venue is and how perfect the service. I had a delish autumn salad and truffle pasta app. The main course of the veggie plate was good but the main menu was better looking plates. The place was perfect and the right company made it amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food but service with "attitude"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Overall we did not enjoy our dining experience despite the good food. It took 20 minutes to get a menu, and they were put out when we ask for one. The wine sommelier was the rudest person I have ever encountered in a fine dining establishment. I have spoken with others who have tried the restaurant and none of us will return as they had the same wine experience and non attentive service. It took three attempts to get the bill sorted out. Great location, great building, interesting menu, but service with severe attitude.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark's American Cuisine also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing