We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican done perfecto”

Tecate Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #3,906 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: Mexican
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mexican done perfecto”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stop into Tecate often for breakfast lunch and dinner very clean. Always good food always good service. If I was mexican it would be like being home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepBubbles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food and extremely friendly”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have been there at least 6 times in the last 3 years. This is the perfect place to gather with your family, or whenever you can't have enough of Fajitas. The food is very good, reasonably cheap, and the portions are very big (you can really feed 2 people with anything you order from the menu). The staff of this restaurant is amazing as well. They will do whatever they can to make you feel at home. You can also use coupons from restaurant.com, and the margaritas are great.
We are planning a party for 40 people there, and they are doing everything they can to make it easy and affordable (they allow you to use restaurant.com coupons for a private party!!!). We love it, and we will go back there soon for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Some restaurants you don't want to review, because the word might get out....I've been eating breafast here for 10+ years. I usually come here right from the airport. I wish I could review more than just breafast, but can't say that ive eating here at any other time of the day. Try the juevos tejanos(my fav), migas, Or juevos mexicanos. A great breakfast spot for the family or after a long night of partying...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washmjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“family friendly, wallet friendly”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

The staff at Tecate are friendly and helpful in setting up our three-generational family get-together, the service for food and alcohol was prompt and the food was tasty - and not full of grease - there was something for everyone and everyone's budget. A nice atmosphere and no ear-splitting music so we could all carry on a conversation.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mole and a flexible menu”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I love mole, so when a friend brought us here yesterday I was very excited to see it on the menu. The prices are very reasonable and they have a broad menu and serve breakfast it seems any time. I asked for a variation of a menu item and they were very happy to accommodate me. I plan to return this week.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yessamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tecate Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tecate Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing