We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy comfort food.”
Review of Cleburne Cafeteria

Cleburne Cafeteria
Ranked #468 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yummy comfort food.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Cleburne Cafeteria is well known for their home cooked comfort food. Their turkey and dressing is a popular choice. Soups and salads are also a healthy option. Home cooked veggies are also available to have as a side item. Don't pass up the dessert. They have delicious German Chocolate Cake! Just try it! You won't be sorry.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prices creeping up too high”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been longtime patrons at Cleburnes and we are not senior citizens-- but the prices are becoming similar to full service restaurants now. A meat serving and 2 vegetables will run almost $15.00. Servings remain generous but even the tea has gone up. Vegetables are now more than $2.00 each.
I am VERY disappointed that Cleburnes continues to charge ,25 per styrofoam box each time we do a pick up order. This added 1.25 to our last bill- it is ridiculous that pick up customers are being penalized even though we are not taking up space or dirtying dishes-- and no refills on tea! This has discouraged my family from ordering more take-out- it just seems like a tax.
I would like to see Cleburnes green their take out containers too by using the same type of paper cartons that Zoes uses- these work great and can be recycled with newspapers. We love having Cleburnes and the good food but they will soon price themselves out of the market.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
330 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“bas Cuisine”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If there is Haute Cuisine, then Cleburne is Bas Cuisine; if you want macaroni and cheese, gelatin salads, chicken fried chicken and desserts topped with 4 inch high meringue this is your spot. Good service on refills on good iced tea, and heaping servings-this is your place. Yes your other diners look like an AARP convention so don't go until noon to avoid a long line.. This is fine comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best option for a cafeteria”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is probably the best cafeteria you can find. Everything is made fresh! All of the vegetables are fresh, and if they don't look up to standard when they buy, they won't buy it. I do find the squash casserole to be too sweet for my taste. A little pricey, but serving sizes are very large. I have been to some places where they think they gave you too much and scrape the extra off. Not here, they pile it on. Don't worry, they walk around offering tea, water and to go containers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The family will love it.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were there with a large group of family members and there was something for everybody. Young and old enjoyed the home cooking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleburne Cafeteria also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cleburne Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing