We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy, Mon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reggae Hut

Reggae Hut
Ranked #2,004 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: The Museum District
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy, Mon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Great food and ambiance. Curry chicken, stew chicken and Jerk chicken were amazing. The rice and beans were fabulous.
Friendly staff, very accommodating to our group of 3 adults and 9 teenagers. The reggae music really added to the experience. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank 326reneew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Palate Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I live in San Antonio. And this place is worth the drive. They're food is EXCELLENT!!!!! I've tried almost every dish. One word describes they're menu "DELICIOUS!" My palate is in heaven. Hope this place never goes out of business!!!! Keep up the Great Cooking Guys. I'm do for another trip to Htwn just to visit this place!!!!!!!!
Vonnie Von

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I try to visit Reggae Hut whenever I visit Houston, which is at least 5 times/year. I've never been disappointed. I always get either the curry shrimp or jerk chicken. And it is consistently on point. Also the sweet tea & lemonade are both great! A must try! Very casual atmosphere. Bring the kids - no problem.

Helpful?
1 Thank KH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good Jamaican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I went to the Reggae Hut with a few family members who were craving some Jamaican good. The Reggae Hut has a very informal setup, you order your food at the counter and then the waitress brings it to your table. We went on a Friday evening so the dj was there and the music added to the atmosphere. The prices are quite reasonable and you get a lot of food. I had jerk chicken, rice and peas, cabbage and plantains, I was stuffed when I finished my meal. If your in Houston and want some Jamaican food, go try the Reggae Hut you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poppazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
211 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best Jamaican food in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Delightful experience on Almeda Boulevard close to downtown. Unique experience. You will step into the complete experience of being in Jamaica complete with music. The staff are wonderful. It's very informal but the food is awesome. You place your order at the counter and the food is delivered to the table. You can BYOB. The Jerk Chicken and Chicken in Brown Sauce are great!!!! The staff can help you with selections. There was so much food that we couldn't finish out entrees.

Also, don't forget to visit the fantastic African art venue just a few doors down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David116116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reggae Hut also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Reggae Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing