We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No repeat visit for me”

Mi Pueblito Restaurant
Ranked #586 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Colombian, Latin, Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“No repeat visit for me”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Perhaps I didn't order the right thing, but the Cazuela de Mariscos was positively 'terrible'. The thickness was the consistency of a bowl of oatmeal that has been sitting too long, same color as well, not at all appetizing, left the majority for the waiter to pick up.
The Bistec con Cebolla had a lot of onion and the meat was tender so a slightly better dish. Lastly, the empanadas had way too thick of a breading, and were only lukewarm when served. Lots of room for improvement.
Not much in the way of atmosphere. Count your change on paying. Noticed that the waiter was watching sports on the TV while counting out the bill change, he must have been 'distracted' because he neglected to return the 0.39 cent 'small' change.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Papito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    25
    5
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
965 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
“Very good food, friendly service”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a very good dinner at Mi Pueblito. This was the first time we ate Colombian cuisine. The wi-fi was good with a strong signal. My wife said the pork belly appetizer was very good. My grilled chicken with red beans, rice, plantain, and salad were very good. The food arrived promptly. The waitress was engaging and friendly. The atmosphere is informal and family-like. The restaurant was busy but not crowded, and the prices were moderate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Columbian Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a fantastic Columbian restaurant. On Friday and Saturday night you can enjoy live music. Some of our favorites are Bandeja Plata, calamari, and tostones.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonbongt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good for trying Colombian "comida tipica"”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The setting is 100% "popular" and well known by Latinos. The waiter was a very nice guy who was a Colombian that new not only about Colombia, but could speak about Latin America in general. Was a good beginning; but later came the best.. the food was fresh, with a lot of flavor and the "tipiquito" I had was a show of what a "comida tipica" really means. Very good place to smell, "degustar" and be in a Colombian atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeryandLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Invitation to try Colombianfood”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The selection of different foods for your taste buds is amazing.From deep fried pork chops flatten like flat bread,fried plantains,rice,salad and beans.Also different food if you dare to try like broiled beef tongue.they have plantain,yuca root,fish,chicken,beef.Coconut sauce is used in lots of dishes so that will be good.Lots of natural fruit juices,domestic,imported sodas.Colombian coffee.Nice selection of desserts.The food I had was fried pork chop,salad,beans,fried plantain and a corn patty.It was a very full plate and very filling enough to eat on for dinner.They also have a bar with beer and mixed drinks .a good place for girls nite out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Pueblito Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mi Pueblito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing