We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but no "wow" experience”
Review of Ouisie's Table

Ouisie's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Ouisie's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #297 of 8,206 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Afton Oaks/ River Oaks
Cross street: Drexel and Willowick
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solid but no "wow" experience”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've lived in Houston for many years and wanted to try a restaurant where I had never dined. Ouisie's Table had a good reputation for good seafood and so that was the choice. We were seated in a cold small dining room as the main room was booked solid with a large wedding party (AC cranked in winter to keep the large wedding party cool). We asked to move in front of the small fireplace to stay warm. The seafood appetizers (crab cakes and potato dish) and entrees (seafood crepes and sea bass) where nicely executed and good but they simply did not give me that “wow” experience. The wine list was sufficient (not very deep nor offering very many options) but the wines seemed to have less markup than other restaurants. Service was reasonably good and attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramsey_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    72
    39
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ambiance and choices”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This restaurant achieves a wonderful blend of comfort and quirkiness. Unexpected menu choices paired with a stylish southern vibe equals a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience. The mood here changes with the crowd and time of day. We had a relaxed and genuinely expert breakfast in an almost empty room, with excellent service. But, the tempo rose with the arrival of the brunch crowd. The attentiveness of the staff never missed a beat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good but not great”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went for a family dinner just before Christmas and were seated in the private wine room. The atmosphere was terrific even if waiters from the main dining room kept entering to obtain wines for their customers. The service was adequate and definitely friendly but the waitress had to be asked for water, wine refills, etc. I so much wanted the food to be spectacular and it was good, however I thought the flavor profiles were actually a bit dull. The crab tower was practically tasteless relying on jalapenos for the only discernible taste. The snapper with brandied oysters was good but not great. I wish I had gone for the oysters Rockefeller and the braised shortribs since other members of my party seemed to really enjoy those dishes. The highlight was the tres leches cake for dessert but even that was lessened in that the requested coffee was never delivered. Overall a pleasant experience but not spectacular.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Level Contributor
316 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Breakfast Gem”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Ouisie's Table is a hidden gem for breakfast. The Eggs Benedict with cheese grits and French toast are absolutely the best in Houston. The waitstaff know how to pamper and their comments are entertaining. We enjoy the quiet cozy atmosphere and highly recommend the food and service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Number1green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place was mighty fine.”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate there tonight after a cab ride from the Hyatt at Allen Center. This place offers great food. I enjoyed a wonderful chicken fried steak. One of the top three I have ever eaten. Started off with a very tasty wedge salad and finished with a wonderful Tres Leche cake for dessert. The food was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crudecows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouisie's Table also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ouisie's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing