We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Eggs Benedict were wonderful and the French Toast slices are THICK!”
Review of Shade - CLOSED

Shade
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greater Heights
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Eggs Benedict were wonderful and the French Toast slices are THICK!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went to eat at Shade around 9:45AM on Sunday, and it was an easy brunch with a pastry tray with coffee to start with, and for the coup d etat‎, fresh fruit and Eggs Benedict with an extra poached egg. It was delicious, and I will go back again. Out of seven people at our table, there were no complaints. The waitress went out of her way to ensure that my aunts coffee cup was preheated before the coffee was poured to ensure that her coffee stayed hot. Exceptional. It really is the attention to detail that counts... and the staff at Shade count the details. Kudos and Bravo!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Breckmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    44
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always a Good Feed!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This neighborhood gem always provides a fine meal. Pick anything on the menu for a very tasty meal. Their infused teas are excellent as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwarren992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great marriage of flavors without being fusy or too commercial”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have eaten here many times and it keeps getting better. Greg, the chef combines flavors in a very current way without making it too extravagant. He is not trying to say look what I did but doesn't this taste good! He and his wife are very personable as are the staff which were extremely attentive. Not stuffy but more like his food, an old friend, comforting but not boring. The roasted fig salad was great.My wife had a bite of mine and and then ordered one for herself. Eggpalnt involtini was very nice as well. We only had appetizers as we had a long drive and did not want to fall asleep. It is in the Hieights 15 minutes form Westheimer Blvd. which makes it this area's premiere eatery and it clearly is as good if not better than most places inside the loop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpmenache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Highlight”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very accommodating for a lunch group of 12, printed a personalized menu at no extra charge, table was ready when we arrived. Food was excellent We ordered appetizers ((bacon, Mac and cheese, pita chips), shrimp entree was excellent, shade salad was loved by everyone who ordered it, The only drawback was a shortage of wait staff. Our waiter did a very good job considering the short staff situation. Have been there before and the food is insistently very good to excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigfishpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Eats in the Heights”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Heights residents enjoy excellent (no.. one of the best) fish restaurants around Houston. The menu is simple but I've had probably 80% of the food items and always impressed. The wine menu features Renteria Pinot Noir, which is one of my personal California faves (unfortunately, no Texas wines - why?). The bar is really a great place to meet for drinks and although this isn't a big place anyway, it's genuinely warm and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidG958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shade also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing