We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak - of course!”
Review of Smith & Wollensky

Smith & Wollensky
Reserve with OpenTable
Smith & Wollensky is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #306 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Drexel
Description: Exclusive dining for Houston's most exclusive village. Situated in Houston's affluent Highland Village, our traditional green-and-white steakhouse is more than a neighborhood icon, but one of the most desirable destinations in the Houston steak scene. Seating up to 350 guests and a perfect complement to the upscale shopping retail district, it's the ultimate atmosphere for luxury dining and drinking.
Lodi, California
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great steak - of course!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Monday night and not surmising lay the restaurant was quiet. We got seated upstairs by the window. Service was very prompt and attentive. The steaks were perfect as we're the martinis. Not a cheap evening but it was good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    19
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We picked this place before going to the theater. We wanted something really nice with great food. The staff was outstanding along with the desserts. Our steaks were tough and our sides were just ok. Not worth the price. Our steaks were over 50.00 a piece with our sides between 15-20.00 . We will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Quality”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you want predicability, this is the place. It is reasonably priced and good steaks as well as seafood. Eat at the bar or in the upstairs dinning area depending on your mood. If you want to people watch, be there on Thursday evenings when the cougars come strolling in from the sunset looking for young prey!
If you dine upstairs, ask for Alfredo - he is a Miami transplant and fantastic waiter!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Inaki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The food was FANTASTIC and service was OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A college and I went to this restaurant for dinner (by accident!) after a long day of traveling and work and had the BEST time! Our waiter, Daniel was very personable and had such a great attitude that we were able to relax and enjoy our wonderful meal. I had the steak Oscar and I can honestly say it was the best steak Oscar I have ever had ( and I order that meal a lot.) The sauce was light yet creamy and the asparagus was prepared perfectly. It was not mushy or rubbery at all. My college had steak and lobster and he ate every bite! The lobster was prepared perfectly, again not rubbery or mushy. It was delicious! The drinks and wine were also great and then we topped it all off with a slice of cheesecake! It was very light and creamy and was the perfect way to end the meal! The manager came over several times to make sure everything was to our satisfaction (which it was!) and he too showed genuine concern that our evening was perfect. I will definitely be visiting this place again next time I am in Houston! Thanks Daniel!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not Impressed for Many Reasons”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Service average with little attention to water glasses. Food delivery very slow. So slow the manager apologized. Food average but generous in quantity. Alcoholic beverages including beers expensive. I did not pay the bill and I was still not impressed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith & Wollensky also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Smith & Wollensky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing