We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mexican foord!”

Irma's Southwest Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Irma's Southwest Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Houston
Level Contributor
288 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican foord!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I thought I knew most of the wonderful Mexican restaurants in Houston...but then I went to Irma's this week! No menu, just great waiters who rattle off the entire menu to us, as we received warm salsa and warm fresh chips. The food is delicious! The service is great, and I think the street parking at the meters seems available. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LBHouston11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    36
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great food and excellent service”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a regular place for me and my co-workers in downtown Houston, across from Minutemaid Park. The owner Louis is always there working hard and always makes a point to try to visit with all the guests. The wait staff is excellent (many are Louis's family members), very knowledgeable and efficient. They have no menu just daily specials, which are all excellent! I highly recommend Irma's SW Grill as it is my favorite Mexican food restaurant... and I am a professional!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montgomery alabama
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

One block from Astros stadium on texas street. We were promptly greeted by our waitress and seated. There are no menus so she quoted what was available. The margaritas were wonderful, obviously made with top shelf tequila. The chile rellenos were the best I have ever tried, and the con leche cake was wonderful. This is a family owned restaurant. It was recommended by someone we met in college station who insisted we try irmas. We weren't disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakemartindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
160 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Probably my favorite Tex-Mex of EVER !!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Service is personalized & friendly and the good is OUTSTANDING! The grilled chile relleno is unique and fresh-tasting, and the guacamole is as good as home-made! I only wish they were open EVERY night for dinner (rather than just on "game days")!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Hidden away right by the baseball stadium, this restaurant was a great find! Tony, the owner, was a wonderful host. The food was authentic, homemade, and bursting with flavor. There is no menu, so you better know what you want. It's like going to your mom's house and she ask, "So what do you want me to cook for dinner?" The atmosphere is like a dive-bar/dive-restaurant, but it's funky and cool. We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irma's Southwest Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Irma's Southwest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing