We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique place to dine”

Buon Appettito Restaurant
Ranked #371 of 8,149 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: University Place
Level Contributor
145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique place to dine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was excellent. I had grilled snapper with pine nuts and it was excellent. The serves wasn't whatever one said in other ratings but it could be staff change. It is in an old house in the best part of Houston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredibly Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is one of the best Italian restaurants I have ever been in....and I travel a lot. Very quaint, romantic, excellent service and outstanding food. We were looking for a nice, quiet restaurant for a good meal and bottle of wine. We shared the spaghetti with meat sauce and snapper. I honestly can't think of one thing that would make this place any different. The gentelman playing guitar as we ate was outstanding and added that perfect touch. Went last night and would go again before leaving Houston tomorrow but they are closed on Sunday. If we lived in Houston this place would be our regular favorite without question!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VegasChzHed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming Sicilian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We arrived at Buon Appettito right as it opened for dinner -- 5 p.m. The owner graciously unlocked the door for us and led us into an intimate back room where the guitarist played and sang quietly. The waiter put a fresh rose on our table and presented us with the menu -- principally of Sicilian specialties, with some "mainland" Italian dishes included. My spouse ordered the tasty minestrone soup, then we shared an order of Pasta alla Norma -- a dish of pasta, tomato, basil, and garlic, with crispy fried eggplant slices. It was excellent. The house salads were tasty and included onions, olives, lettuce and tomatoes. As my main dish, I had Involini Siciliani -- stuffed, rolled veal with a delicious sauce. A bottle of Sicilian red wine -- Nero D'Avola -- complemented the meal well. No dessert for us. The food was tasty, the service was excellent, and the price was reasonable. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francescacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Quaint Sicilian Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

Do not be scared away by its curb appeal as it looks like an old house. It is family owned and we were greeted by the owner. We enjoyed the live music, a guitarist on our evening. The small space, music and dim lighting creates a subdued and intimate ambiance.

Started with the fried calamari which was tasty. I had a snapper dish with crab meat (I forget the name). It was delicious and filling yet felt light. We finished with the tiramisu. As expected, it was wonderful but was not very large (which is probably a good thing since I did not need the calories). Would recommend to anyone as there were menu items for vegetarians and picky eaters.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sicilian/Italian restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Fish was very fresh, well prepared, quaint Italian atmosphere, nice presentation, & great service!! Loved it!!! If you were to drive by this two story home (converted to restaurant) you would probably not notice it. Don't miss it!!!! The BEST snapper I've ever had.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetsue1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Appettito Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Buon Appettito Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing