We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic cuisine done with thought toward true regional traditions.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hugo's

Hugo's
1602 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX 77006 (Neartown/ Montrose)
713-524-7744
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 7,893 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuisine done with thought toward true regional traditions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hugo's will always satisfy your hunger for authentic Mexican dishes done in new and inventive ways. Never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    165
    47
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional, almost.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Would have to say we had some of the best Mexican food we have ever had. The service was superb and enjoyed the ambiance. The tuna tacos followed by the lamb shank in mole sauce was cooked to perfection.
However we were hugely disappointed when there was a "mark up" on our bill when my friend and I asked for it to be split. Soured what was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scotslaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Spectacular steaks with prices to match. Service impecable. Food quality excellent. I stuck with the beef options but others liked their other options.

Helpful?
Thank Sharonatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scilla, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Broke my heart ;(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Hugo's was my favorite restaurant ever; my husband and I desided to go there every anniversary if we could make it to Houston. We acctually had our daughters baptism party there. So that's why I was really heart broken with our last experience.
We don't live in Houston anymore, but come back as soon as we can and we chose Hugo's to celebrate our family reunion. We were very excited to go for the Sunday brunch and obviously it was packed, even with a reservation, we still waited for almost an hour but we found seats at the bar and I must say the bartender was amazing! great drinks and great attitude. Live music was great too.
We finally got our table for 7 right by the only window without a courtain, so the 1 pm sun was hitting directly over one of the chairs. There was a lizard on the floor by the window apparently taking the sun, I'm not particularly afraid of them but I told the waiters about it and they didn't mind either.
I volunteered to seat in the "hot spot" , but 20 minutes later I couldn't take it anymore, I was sweating and couldn't even enjoy my meal; and neither the rest of my family, the whole table was hot.
We asked the waiters for a solution, i had to stand up, my husband took my place but couldn't take it either. The manager came and said he would move us as soon as he could, but sadly they gave 2 or 3 large tables away before they moved us. :( I still don't know why!
Meanwhile some of us were standing up at the lobby or by the stairs, and some other had to eat ( the older and the kids). By the time they moved us, half of our party had finish eating, and the other half wasn't really hungry anymore. The new table didn't even had enough silverware for all.
The manager wouldn't even look at me anymore. At the end they just handded the check and did not charge for one person.
In my 10 years of Concierge expirience I've learned, and I'm sure the manager must've heard of this, when a guest has a bad experience you go talk to them and let them know you are aware of the problem, that you are trying your best to make it better and ask them how you can make them happy.
They totally ignored me and basically just expected for us to leave and stay quiet just because they didn't make me pay for my meal.
To think we've been dreaming of Hugo's for a year! ;(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dulce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Real upscale Mexican in Tex-Mex land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love this place, been there many times while living in Houston. Awesome wine list (not cheap, but then that’s normal in Houston), good ritas. Great to sit at the bar have a bottle and order a bunch of small plates from their bar menu or the appetizers. Nice way to try a variety. Also don’t miss Sunday brunch. Well worth the money as you can try many of their offerings for one price. Valet parking although I generally find annoying, comes in handy after brunch as making it all the way to your car might be a bit challenging on your full stomach.
Don’t miss the Barbacoa, Cochinita Pibil and the Cabrito… damn, just writing this makes me want to go back…

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Aristocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugo's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hugo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing