We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and quick service”
Review of Kim Son Restaurant

Kim Son Restaurant
Ranked #517 of 8,246 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good food and quick service”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We were on our way to a baseball game and stopped for dinner. We were served quickly and the food was good.

We have been going to this location for many years and always enjoy the food.

Parking is easy and convenient.

Also good for very big groups.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikel12323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Couple or an Extended Family...fun and very good”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I along with our extended family all really like this place. For us, it is on the way out of the Houston Arts (Symphony, Opera, live theatre, etc.) district and also for the basketball arena and the pro-baseball park. The menu is extensive with choices for everyone including the young children in our group. Also, it is informal enough that we can just "drop in" if we are in the area and it can be formal enough for a major suit-and-tie event. The staff is very efficient and quick to take orders and does frequent, subtle followup to make sure all is well. One time we stopped by during the Chinese New Year and they had an in-restaurant dragon and drum parade that everyone enjoyed thoroughly. The shrimp spring rolls are enough to invite us to drive the 20 or so miles from our house to the restaurant alone, the food is the clincher for making us do that. The restaurant is always busy but there always seems to be sufficient parking and any wait we have had was only to put a couple of tables together to accommodate our family "crowd". We consider this a "go to" place... also, the prices are very reasonable and a family can enjoy a great meal without having to go to their bank for a loan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocketscientist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy......”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love the food at this location. Like trying different items. Service was good. Enjoy celebrating here.


Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bloom77373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed Customers”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I first called a few days before our planned lunch, the person who answered the phone was rude and did not seem willing to entertain my inquiry. I thought it had to do with language barrier.

A few days later, I made a reservation for a Sunday at11:00 am. The restaurant was open on time, but the staff was not ready to let us take our seats. We ate lunch with our out-of-town guests - 12 total people in our group. My husband and I chose this restaurant because we wanted our guests to have a nice dining experience because we are frequent customers of the Fountain and Bellaire locations and both have excellent service.

The staff at the Jefferson did not appear enthusiastic; they did not even smile or greeted the customers with warmth. We ordered the family menu; the dishes were all delicious and our guests enjoyed them, especially the taro pudding. However, the service was slow. Our waiter was nice, but was not attentive to us. We had crabs, but our waiter did not give us disposable wipes to clean our hands; my husband had to ask the front personnel to give us some. The food came out slowly.

Overall, we were disappointed and embarrassed of the poor service. It fell short of our expectations, being frequent customers of other Kim Son locations. I strongly suggest that the staff undergo training geared toward customer satisfaction, particularly that the Jefferson location is the flagship restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not exciting”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Its been awhile since I visited this Houston institution.
The quality, service have much suffered.
I won't be going back, that's a shame.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HoustonSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim Son Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kim Son Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing