We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out and lay low.”
Review of Irma's Original

Irma's Original
Ranked #380 of 8,283 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Serving Mexican specialties 6 days a week, Irma's offers guests an ever-changing selection of breakfast and lunch items. There is nothing like grandma's homemade Mexican cooking and that is exactly what you'll receive here at Irma's! Come and join us.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out and lay low.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed margaritas, delicious and chunky guacamole, and authentic tamales. Definitely enjoyed our visit here but keep an eye on that tab, easy to get carried away and the friendly service keeps the dishes coming out. Will certainly stop in again on the next visit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    19
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located across from Minute Maid ball park, this authentic Mexican Resturant is a place to see. They are known for their great lemonade, the strawberry Margaritas were fantastic. The owner Irma was in the kitchen and came out to say hello. We were a large group of photographers that stopped in for drinks. I had fish tacos that were very good. The decor was eclectic, lots of things to look at. The waiter was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 50poof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a midweek lunch here with family, and it was a wonderful experience. Service was outstanding, with several different servers, and Irma herself making sure all our needs were met. There is no menu, your server will tell you of your choices. They made a special dish to accommodate my picky daughter. All the food and beverages were excellent. Standouts were the guacamole and strawberry lemonade. Close to Minute Maid park if there's a day game. We would definitely come again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aacmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night with my girlfriend on the way to a wedding reception. We did not know what to expect but we were truly surprised the services was great and the food even better. Irma her self served us and she made sure everything was just perfect. My girlfriend had the blackened fish which was perfect and I had chicken and beef fajitas which were also great the beans and queso were also wonderful. We will be back for dinner and lunch.....

Helpful?
Thank Raymond O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My clients took me here and I was really impressed. The food and some of their specialty (non-alcholic) drinks were really good! It was business friendly too as they didn't mind us taking a long lunch to talk shop. I would visit again if I return to the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank App19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irma's Original also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Irma's Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing