We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good Med buffet”

Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet
Ranked #260 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Consistently good Med buffet”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This review is for a visit to the Dimassi's location on Kirby Drive, just across the street from the stadium. We stopped in there on a Saturday afternoon for an early dinner, after visiting the Home Show in the Reliant Center. The buffet selection was excellent, and provided a wide variety of Mediterranean and Middle-eastern dishes, from salad, through entree to desserts. The choices were slightly different than those offered at their Dallas location, but that was not an issue -- there was something for everyone in our party. Chicken, lamb, beef, lots of rice, and cooked vegetables, with spices that were sometimes strong but never overwhelming. The restaurant is located in the Fiesta Mart strip center, though it was clear some care had been taken with the interior decor. When we were there, it was well patronized by families, couples and solitary diners of all backgrounds; most everyone was dressed quite casually. Not super cheap -- the dinner price was $11.99 per person, but for a rich and ample buffet, it was absolutely worth the price. I noticed they also offer plastic containers and saw a number of people purchase those and load up from the buffet to-go -- ah, to have a Dimassi's so close to home would be wonderful!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay-cee-1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Always a high point when traveling to Houston!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

When we travel back to the USA and to Houston we always allow time for a trip to Dimassi's. This week was no exception and we had another wonderful meal. What makes this place so great is the fact that the quality is always the same - wonderful!

The one complaint is that with the 'dinners' card that you can have stamped when you eat there - they will not stamp the same card for 2 people eating. This makes it very difficult for travelers to complete the card and receive their free meal. In the past - the policy allowed one card usage for 2 clients. I really do not understand the reason for the change other than greed. A free meal at a buffet is VERY title cost to a restaurant and if a person is coming 10 times then they are a quality client... the kind that will continue to return. THIS IS A BAD POLICY AND THEY SHOULD CHANGE BACK TO THE 'OLD' POLICY OF STAMPING ONE CARD AND NOT MAKING IT HARDER FOR THEIR GUEST THAT TRAVEL TO HOUSTON AND ENJOY THEIR QUALITY FOOD.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0calO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“I could live in this restaurant!”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have gone to Dimassi's from the day the first owner opened the doors for business. It was great then and it is still great. Quality, service, selection... WOW! Everything is so fresh and taste so good, I could live in this restaurant!

If you have not tried Mediterranean food - start with the best Houston has to offer. So much to select from (and it is ALL good) and such a very reasonable price. this cannot be beat.

I wish I could rate it higher than 5 starts.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0calO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Middle Eastern treat....”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This wasn't the restaurant I visited. I went to the one on Kirby Avenue but I assume they are all much the same. If you are a vegetarian like me you cannot help but be impressed with the variety and choice of delicious middle eastern food on offer. But meat eaters seem well catered for as well. Of all the restaurants I found on my searches for vegetarian dining on my visit to Houston, this was far and away the best. And being a buffet you could double up on your favorites. The decor was both modern and simple. Good natural lighting from the large window area and a pleasant and relaxed ambiance. Excellent value. Friendly service. Everyone who worked there seemed genuinely happy to be there.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vincelpaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“fresh food, lots of variety, healthy feeling after”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Food is fresh, I liked the lamp, beef kabob, salad, eggplant, grilled zucchini. Nice and warm bread, sweet dessert. I have no complains, will go back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teaboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing