We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven Grill

Raven Grill
Ranked #345 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: University Place
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Service was fine (although I tend to agree with teh Yelp reviewer who said the waiters needed to smile at least once, but the rib-eye and filet were delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank quaycountygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    41
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I'd Give It A 2nd Shot...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Raven Grill for an early lunch before visiting the Museum of Fine Arts. I found the atmosphere to be nice and there is also a patio for outdoor dining. Our waitress was very friendly. I ordered the spicy southwestern shrimp Caesar ($13) and my husband ordered the Raven dinner, three chicken flautas topped with tomatillo sauce with herb rice and beans ($14). The food arrived quickly however, I must admit to being a bit disappointed with my salad - at first glance it was a huge salad but upon closer inspection it was really about 98% romaine lettuce; the menu showed a black bean/corn salsa, mesquite grilled shrimp, and a spicy Caesar dressing). Four shrimp, perhaps a tablespoon of the bean/corn salsa, and a slew of tortilla slivers...I just didn't see the value behind this dish. Also my spicy Caesar dressing was not spicy at all, and I'm not usually one who loves really hot dishes. On the other hand, my husbands flautas were delicious and not greasy at all, his herb rice was bland and the beans were nothing special though. I think I would give the Raven Grill a second chance but would order something different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful dining spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We were at the Texas Medical Center and looked around online for a non-chain restaurant nearby. This one sounded interesting and not over the top expensive. We were pleasantly surprised to be seated in a lovely outdoor covered patio with wonderful ambiance. The menu was diverse but after enjoying the fantastic tower of rings I just had a strawberry spinach salad. My husband had fish tacos and we finished off with a giant piece of carrot cake, half of which we took home. The food was all great, the service was pleasant and perfectly attentive and the whole experience couldn't have been better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bormimern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Been here 3 times, most recently yesterday. I find it an outstanding place. Nice wine list and great food. I have always stuck with their grilled offerings, which are many. They have a nice wood grill. They take reservations, which I recommend as it's a small dining room and quite crowded. Nice bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“West U Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

The Raven is just a perfect little local. Very low key, very good food, attentive service, reasonable prices, indoor or outdoor dining. It's hard to pin down why it's so likable - it just is. A regular stop for us going to and from the Med Center and the Museum District. Limited parking - go early or late.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tigtigtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raven Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Raven Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing