We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indoor and outdoor”
Review of Raven Grill

Raven Grill
Ranked #340 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: University Place
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“Indoor and outdoor”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Nice place in Houston's most interesting neighbourhood. No reservations taken for less than two people, but never ran into a completely full house. Outdoor seating is nice, perhaps with the exception of the headlights of the cars moving about on the parking lot, but then hey,Houston is one big parking lot so hard to escape. Good wine list for reasonale prices, we had a pretty good Malbec for less than thirty. Food imaginative and not too expensive for the quality offered. Overall warmly recommended for casual dinn with a relaxed but upscale crowd.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    16
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a good neighborhood restaurant. Close to museums, medical center and Herman Park. The menu has a wide selection for everyone. We have eaten here several times and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank captainsimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anahuac, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very fresh food, great wine, great atmosphere, great patio. Try the sweet potatoe and spinach enchiladas, they're very yummy. Owners and staff are amazing! if you're in the area for lunch they have a deli next door "Picnic"

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliGator14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Blah food, blah service - live chicken on the patio”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This restaurant has a devout neighborhood following that keeps them in business. The diverse menu offered a lot of choices, but each item's description was better than the dish looked or tasted. Let's start from the top.

We picked this restaurant because it was near the Museum and open for an early Sunday dinner. The restaurant itself had a warm, dressy casual atmosphere, but I hated the butcher paper covering the table cloths. We had dirty sliverware which was replaced with no comment. Service overall was ok, but no one was breaking a sweat.

The dinner special of the day was Chicken Fried steak--yuck. The waitstaff tries to upsale you on the wines, but the lower priced wine by the glass selections are very good. The bread would have been tasty had it not been stone cold. The Tower O' Rings was delicious, but the spicy sauce was bland with an unpleasant aftertaste. I sampled the Fish Tacos and agreed with my guest that they were horrible. My Sweet Potato and Spinach enchaladas were literally a hot mess--tasted like cheesy baby food. My husband's Raven Dinner looked just like my entree; a cheese covered gloppy mess of something with a blob of tastless beans and weakly flavored rice. The Pecan Crusted chicken was deemed 'ok' by our second guest, who eats just about anything with relish. His entree also suffered from a lack of presentation; it looked like a plate of cafeteria food. The high point of the meal was the Fudge Brownie Melt cake and the Raven coffee. These got 5 stars from everybody.

The restaurant itself was clean, the bathrooms tidy, and the bar area looked like an inviting place to meet before dinner with the most friendly bartender I've met in a long time. If you have mobility issues, you should have no problems negotiating the environment. The patio looked cute and inviting until we saw the pet chicken scratching in the planter boxes that are on level with the table tops. I don't care if the hen has a name--chickens are nasty and do not belong in an eating establishment.

Everyone in our party left generally disappointed and would not return to give this place a second chance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perkypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Good Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Raven Grill is a "one of a kind" neighborhood restaurant. The staff is consistently attentive and open to the flexible requests of their customers. The menu has a variety of offerings that can satisfy almost anyone's tastes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raven Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Raven Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing