We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting dining spot!”
Review of La Griglia

La Griglia
Reserve with OpenTable
La Griglia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #182 of 8,203 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shepherd
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exciting dining spot!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here several times, with friends & family, and just the two of us, and it never disappoints! We recommend starting off with the calamari as an appetizer, it is crispy and light - not greasy at all. The Sicilian Penicillin soup is fragrant and fresh, with just enough vegetables and pasta to make it a filling starter. The lobster bisque is also an excellent starter - rich and delicious!

For entrees we recommend the Linguine Marinara, which is studded with tons of fresh seafood and has a light marinara sauce that just coats the pasta perfectly. The fish specials are always an excellent choice, and if you are in the mood for something light, the Torre di Granichio salad with lump crab meat is just divine.

This is a great place to bring out of town guests, especially a mixed group that doesn't know what kind of food they want, because it has a little of everything and it's all delicious! Also take advantage of the patio if it's nice out - like a little oasis on Gray Street!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    50
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect dining -”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent and knowledgeable wait staff makes this a superb experience. The food was lovely, as expected - I and my companions are gnocchi addicts - the chef accommodated my request for a gorgonzola cream sauce which was not on the menu. Excellent job. I am not completely sold on the stuffing of the gnocchi with ricotta, which is what they do here. But that's a nice and unique touch, distinguishing this from other restaurants. Bread, wine, salad excellent - they split the salad between the three of us and it was out in very short order.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place for Fine Dining”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Located just off South Shepherd Drive, we stopped here after a day of spent at the local museums. The vibrant colors used throughout the décor fairly screamed for our attention. From the chandeliers, to the wall murals, to the tiled sign behind the bar, and much more, everything combined created a cacophony of color! Our server’s eager effervescence nearly matched the over-the-top festive atmosphere. Our entrées were seafood linguine and grilled salmon. They were prepared and presented flawlessly. We happily indulged in a domestic chardonnay while waiting on our orders. The evening’s tab was consistent with the ambiance and good eating. We were entirely pleased with every aspect of our dinner here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Never had bad food here ever!!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great food, great service, great place. I had a squash dish that was out of this world. Highly recommend. A little pricey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening Out with Friends...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for the first time last weekend to celebrate a friend's birthday. Large party, no reservation, yet we were still seated within 15-20 minutes. Service was great, very helpful, but not overbearing. As others have mentioned, the Pre- meal bread basket was a treat, & the drinks were always there! BTW, the "pizza" bread is a focaccia w/ tomato sauce... (We asked!)

We had a wide range of menu items- soups, salads, pastas, fish, wild boar chop, etc... All were very well done & larger- sized portions. An unexpected bonus- when some of us wanted to split soups/ salads, they actually plated them separately at no additional charge! And beware- the soups & salads are HUGE!!! Desserts were also on the larger side, easily shared by 2-3 people...

There was a nice selection of by-the- glass wines, & the server's suggestions were spot-on. Also, one person in our party had a (legit) food allergy, & they were very accommodating towards her needs. They had no problem splitting the check, and no gratuity was added for a party of 8!

Overall, a wonderful experience, & we will return. Great bar, great food, great service... And great atmosphere! Just an Outstanding Evening!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cdh713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Griglia also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Griglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing