We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food - long standing favorite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katz's Deli and Bar

Katz's Deli and Bar
Ranked #312 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
greenville
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food - long standing favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had matzoball soup for the first time and I may not be spoiled for life. It was amazing. Others had their huge sandwhiches.

You have to love any place that has a huge vat of pickles out for you to grab!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank burtontps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    69
    44
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Greasy food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

The food was greasy and the server messed up our order….so I have nothing positive to say. I regret that we invested our one Houston meal at this establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanoibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poorly run”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had lunch on May 10, 2014. Waited for 15 minutes for a table which is okay. Staff was stressed too many customers not enough wait staff. Waited for water, beers and food. Asked the host when leaving what what is the problem today? He mentioned that it was graduation and mothers day weekend-management should had been prepared.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fatty Pastrami”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love pastrami and I should have known better than to order it in Houston!! I thought since it was called Katz's maybe, somehow, I would magically be transported to the lower east side of NYC. Even the rye bread was gummy. The meat was fatty and greasy. After I opened the sandwich and cut the fat out I was able to enjoy the trimmed meat. My husband and friend enjoyed their meal so I gave them an average score. The interior of the restaurant was quite nice and our waiter was friendly. Next time I will order better!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayview, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Deli in Houston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Katz's is one of our regular stops in the Montrose area. The food is superb and the service is too! The deserts are drop-dead-beautiful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonaldGGreenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katz's Deli and Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Katz's Deli and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing