We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently excellent food and service.”
Review of Houston's

Houston's
Ranked #56 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food and service.”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I go to Hillstone (formerly Houston's) a few times a month with my wife and two teenage sons. We all love it. Excellent prime rib, perfectly roasted. Large, crisp salads. Fresh grilled salmon is tender and sweet.

And, the BEST french fries we have ever had. Seriously. I work out an extra half hour the day we go, just so I can share an order of those fries. They're thin, crisp, and hand cut only from Yukon Gold potatoes. Lightly fried and sprinkled with a bit of sea salt.

I always savor a delicious martini made with Roxor, an outstanding new gin produced in Austin and made with local ingredients - including Texas pecans!

The service is excellent too. The staff is cheerful, attentive, and responsive. All without trying too hard to entertain us, or making us feel rushed. You can count on Hillstone for a great night out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSturtevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    98
    30
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hillstone (former Houston's) has the Best Ribs”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Hands down the best ribs on the planet!!! We used to live overseas in Baku, Azerbaijan, and our last favorite last meal in Houston's ribs. Trust us, two people can each have their wonderful house salad and then split one order of knife-and-fork ribs with sides of baked beans and coleslaw. Heaven!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I live in West U. We go to Houston's about 4 times a month and sit at the bar. The staff is fantastic and friendly!! They remember your names and what you tend to drink. The menu is simple but the food is always REALLY good. The service is the best!! Also, ask about the daily specials as they tend to have some that are not on the menu.
I have had just about everything on the menu and you cannot make a poor selection. I highly recommend the Spinach Dip!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romace or family a great place to go”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This great restaurant is a perfect setting for romance or for the family gathering. The food is always prepared to perfection and the menu is diverse enough for everyone in the family or group to find something of their liking! Did I mention it is also a great place to go for a romantic evening out?

Helpful?
Thank Karen030312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite family appetizer”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Get the spinach and artichoke dip. Salads are wonderful (ask for the side of cheese bread). The french dip sandwich is special. Every time we go we complain that they have raised the prices again, but the food is great so we always return.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank natashaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing