We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mockingbird Bistro - CLOSED

Mockingbird Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: McDuffie
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Mockingbird Bistro offers an excellent menu of interesting taste combinations. We each chose a seafood dish that was well prepared, with interesting accompanyments. The meal was light and tasty, not heavy or filling. Desserts were equally tasty.The service was excellent. Perhaps the best meal I have had in several visits to Texas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    47
    25
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Memorable Cocktails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My first (and definitely only) experience was on a Saturday evening. I made my reservation a week ahead through OpenTable.

The restaurant had a very nice presentation. It actually is surrounded in a residential neighborhood in River Oaks. Very nice exterior, and the entrance is impeccable. Valet is recommended for $5.00, but not required if you can find parking on the street.

I am not sure with a reservation why we were seated in the bar when there were plenty of open tables in the dining room. For a restaurant in the "romantic" category, the noise level was a bit high.

The cocktails were amazing. You cannot go wrong with the Kiwi Mojito.

The mussels in coconut milk appetizer was unique and delicious. The entrée's we had were the swordfish on special and the duck. Both entrée's were overdone. This was a bit surprising since French cuisine is supposed to be known for main course fish and duck. For dessert we had the chocolate lava cake, which was really nothing out of the ordinary.

Service was slow. Perhaps it just happened to be an off night. Not a bad place overall as long as your culinary expectations aren't high.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lentara71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Houston upscale setting near River Oaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the Galleria Area, easily accesible from San Felipe and Shepard avenues, it is well worth the trip from your hotel. Most guests are local residents looking for an upscale dinning experience. Friendly staff members greet you at the door into a nicely decorated restaurant. We had a drink at the bar, prepared by expert bartenders, and then shown to our table. Once there, the service was slow in general, as it took a long time for the maitre'd to take our order and even longer to have it delivered to our table. It was Saturday night and the place was very busy, but the servers were super nice and professional. The food was good in general, but my "pink fish" special was only okay since it was overcooked and dry. Others in my party had the mussels and "steak frites" and said they were delicious. Of course we finished our experience with a premium chocolate dessert and coffee. If you are looking for local Houston flavor in a deLuxe setting, this is an excelent choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mechudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Neighborhood Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great food, wine and atmosphere and wonderful service. We go there regularly. Never disappoints. Would recommend it highly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alix S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Flawless execution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an up-market bistro. Valet parking, linen tablecloths, and lots of wait staff, priced accordingly.
They offer a cognac Sazerac on their cocktail list. It was nicely done. Their beer selection includes a bunch of local craft brews. I had a superb local wheat beer.
I had the Beef Carpaccio with baby arugula, shaved parmesan, and truffle oil starter. Excellent.
My main was the house mussels with fries. The mussels were really excellent, cooked in a tomato-infused broth with Spanish chorizo and onions. I wanted to drink the broth. The fries are shoestrings sprinkled with parmesan and truffle oil. OMG. A very generous portion, enough for two I'd say.
Dessert was apple bread pudding with cinnamon ice cream. Yes!
This place is a keeper, but be prepared for the check.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drntbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mockingbird Bistro also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing