We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood and service at reasonable price!”

Massa's South Coast Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Massa's South Coast Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #184 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Family owned and operated seafood restaurant with a South Coast twist.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great seafood and service at reasonable price!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had dinner at Massa's at the recommendation of the concierge at our hotel. It is a nice upscale restaurant with excellent food and service to match. You can also wear jeans--don't have to dress fancy--but there were customers were dressed up too. We were attending at event that night in downtown Houston, so it was an ideal place to eat within walking distance of our hotel and then we walked over to Minute Maid Park to see a concert after having dinner!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    46
    24
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood you can find everywhere”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good seafood but nothing spectacular. Except for their Lobster Bisque... that's delicious! Other than that, i think it's just overpriced seafood and their portions are not very big.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HstnAg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I went to Massa's with a group of friends, all of whom ordered something different. Everyone raved about their food. There were no duds in our group. One other person in our group and I are vegan. I ordered the vegetarian pasta and she ordered the grilled veggie plate. We split half and half and both of us were very happy. I think I would give the grilled veggies a slightly higher grade than the pasta, but the difference is slight. We each had a nice glass of wine and enjoyed watching our friends eating everything from mussels to pecan crusted trout. Yum! Our group took some time to assemble and our waiter was the soul of gracious patience. We were the last to leave the restaurant and again, there was no effort to make us feel uncomfortable. Other patrons seemed to be having an equally fine dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A tradition the first night of our Houston visit. Love all the seafood options, everything I've ever had is very good!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bbquiltmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Filling”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We went on a week night and were the only people there. I ordered the gumbo which was really filling and tasted quite good (smelled awful though but it gave us a laugh) and the service was very nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willow1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Massa's South Coast Grill also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Massa's South Coast Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing