We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast & lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobbit Cafe

Hobbit Cafe
Ranked #120 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Greenway/ Upper Kirby
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast & lunch”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is one of our favorite breakfast/lunch spots in Houston. It is extremely casual and the clientele ranges from college students coming off a rough night to business women/men and families. The menu has a nice variety for vegans and carnivores. One of my favorite items is the buffalo breakfast burrito.

The have a great beer selection and serve other alcoholic beverages as well. The staff is attentive and friendly, but again, this is a casual dining experiences and most of the servers wear jeans and a t-shirt.

Both the indoor and outdoor seating areas are relaxing but not classy. This is a place you can dine in a suit and tie, but I probably wouldn't. This is a place where you go to hang out for a couple hours to relax, enjoy great food, and hang out with friends. I highly recommend it for your next casual breakfast or lunch experience in Houston.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sfurtwengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    113
    34
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food. Parking and tables are a precious commodity”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food is great and reasonably priced. Good variety of options; including vegetarian choices. Parking is horrible. It is tough to get a table on the weekend. Outdoor seating is nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNSc-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a group of eight and everyone enjoyed their meal. The service was very good. It is unique and I like places that are different. Very nice outdoor dining too,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsampls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our 10 year old to eat here after we read the Hobbit. He enjoyed looking at all the memorabilia. We loved the stuffed jalepenos. The veggie burger was delicious; not just a Bocca burger. The sandwiches are a bit pricey but their uniqueness and portion size make it worth the splurge. Our waiter was awesome. The best I have ever had anywhere. I heard a patron ask about the soup and he asked if he would like a sample before ordering. Who does that?? And we were in and out of there in a snap. Parking can be a bit funky but that is all part of the charm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharPHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty fair”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is one of those quirky out of the way places that is easy to forget about. They deliver quality cafe food consistently. Their fish sandwich and sweet potato fries are great. They offer a good mixture of items that most everyone can be happy with from vegetarian, to fish and beef.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GigEm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbit Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hobbit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing