We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A steak house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Yorktown
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A steak house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Capital Grille is an upmarket steak house. You expect a good steak and you get one. The restaurant is a bit pretentious but no need to over dress.
The volume of food is astounding. It is what I expect in America. Interestingly, the waiter will ask you if you want to add shrimp, lobster or crab on top of a monster steak.
Choice of salad and sides a bit restrictive for such an upmarket place.
Good food if you want a steak; however, lots of steak houses in Houston and I bet you can get a steak just as good for less money.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    64
    22
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
1,440 reviews
900 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 765 helpful votes
“Cannot go wrong with this place, keep reading....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is an upscale restaurant NOT to do it everyday but once in a while, seated in the heart of the Galleria, has a dressing code which I appreciate, serves EXQUISITE steaks and has a great variety of wines, staff is trained to served demanding folks and prices obviously are HIGH but also service is GREAT so you pay for what you get, facilites are extremely clean and plenty of parking outside , valet or park yourself. Lights were a little too dimmed for me I could not read the menu but overall experience was AWESOME, I recommend this place with no doubt in my mind you will be satisfied 100%....make your reservations in advance because it could get crowded on weekends. A+++++++

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This restaurant is awesome! Service is great and food (especially steaks) is amazing! Pretty good wine and liquor selection. Nothing bad to say about The Capital Grille!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Capitol Grill, City Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Texas is full of steak houses, you can spit and hit one. This one is tucked in the heart of City Center, in Town and Country, a little difficult to find. On a Thursday evening it was empty, not a lively bar scene, might be because its fairly new. The food was good for steaks, cooked as ordered, the lobster mac and cheese was rich, gooey and a highlight of the menu. Service was excellent.
Ok, just said Texas was full of steak houses, we can get an excellent steak on every block, and they are fairly reasonable in price, even the more expensive places are not too bad. $50 for a steak???

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jomomocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“You´ll love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Capitol Grille is close to the Galleria mall in Houston and is a high-end but still charming place for a business or private dinner. As te name suggests, this is about meat, but they do offer a wide variety of dishes. If your a regular, you might have your private vine collection ready in designated lockers; George W. Bush has one !

I had a porterhouse steak and my company had fillet steak - all cooked to perfection and as ordered.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smbjerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing