We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Yorktown
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest of seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our event planning staff has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. One of only a few restaurants in Houston to receive the DiRona (Distinguished Restaurants of North America) Award.
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The waitress was warm and friendly. The steaks were prepared perfectly. The Lobster Mac and Cheese was one of the best things I have ever tasted. Order it. The lobster bisque was rich and delicious. The atmosphere was warm and reserved. We were there with grandparents and children and everyone enjoyed it. The prices were actually reasonable for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank utbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    65
    22
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful sandwich/ bar food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had a crab and lobster sandwich. It came on a brioche style "bun" and was really delicious. There was a generous portion of crab and lobster.
My only quasi-complaint is that the person who took my order initially said that they couldn't substitute vegetables for fries. Eventually, she did make the change, however.
I also had the cheesecake with berries which was one of the best that I have ever eaten. It was a little different -- rich and sweet but soft, almost like a custard. Lots of fresh berries and a crisp cookie type crust.
Terrific restaurant, at least for the bar food.
I had the food delivered to my hotel and it was still hot when it arrived.
Caution -- the main menu is very expensive -- a steak entree can be $40.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Businessvoyager0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
211 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Good Steak”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Steak was very good. I actually got food delivery over to the Aloft Hotel next door. And it was great. The food was hot and fresh still.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
415 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Yep... This where you want to be"”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ahhh... When it comes to steak and seafood, Capital Grille does is right! I love everything about this place. From the rich food to the high class ambiance, just walking into this restaurant makes you feel like somebody important! I don't know if this is some place I would take a lady on a first date because of great elegance but if you want to impress somebody, this is a place that I'd take them (especially with Valentines Day coming up...). Definitely a place I would bring my wife for an anniversary or a Girlfriend for a proposal... easily!

I brought my lady here for Valentines Day and of course they hooked her up with a goody bag full of chocolates, they gave her a rose, and a complimentary drink... She really felt special and it made her day!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZexSwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High class”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great food, not cheap. Long standing tradition for fine quality. Lots of people use this restaurant as a meeting place so you may see a lot of important people. The food and service is very good.

Helpful?
Thank Sharonatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing