We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service AND you could hear each other”

Damian's Cucina Italiana
Reserve with OpenTable
Damian's Cucina Italiana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 8,244 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Anita / Rosalie
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service AND you could hear each other”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I was out of town on work travel on Valentine's Day so we celebrated last night, and it was wonderful! I had the Verde Gorgonzola salad and the Spaghetti Bolognese, and my husband had the Tomatoes and Onion Salad and Spaghetti with Mama Mandola meatballs. Everything was delicious, and the sauces for our entrees tasted soooo good - slow cooked and very flavorful. Andy was our waiter and very attentive. We were too full to eat dessert there so we ordered the Italian Cream Cake to go, and when we had it had home, it was great. We're headed back in a week and bringing another couple with us as this is one of those rare quieter restaurants where you can actually hear each other talk without having to shout across the table. Look forward to our visit again next weekend!

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our special night out”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The atmosphere was very nice !! The staff very professional!! The food was so delicious!! Looking back,it was a special night to remember

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful food....service and ambiance”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went on a business dinner this past Wednesday evening and had a great experience here. Very old school classy Italian restaurant atmosphere. The waitstaff was very helpful and attentive. Many of us started out with the Lobster bisque...it was brought out in an hollowed out round bread....spectacular. All of our party enjoyed their entrees....the ravioli special I had was very good (filled with veal). Bread served prior to the main entrees was fresh and very good. Wine list was extensive with many in a reasonable price range. Deserts were excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJean681985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't say enough positive”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went this past Sat night and had the Chef's table reserved adjoining the kitchen. What a great experience, service, food surroundings, could not ask for a better experience. Afterwards they even have a courtesy shuttle to and from the theater district. The food is absolutely the best you could hope for and everyone that works there does their best to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good restaurant - note about theater shuttle”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had the anniversary special where there was a choice of salad/soup, entree and dessert. The salad was excellent (candied walnuts with greens and balsamic dressing), the pasta with olive oil and tomatoes was okay and the dessert was good. The service was attentive without being obtrusive. I had not eaten here in about 20 years, but I would definitely return soon. They have a shuttle to the theater district and we took it to the Wortham Theater. Unfortunately, we didn't realize that they would wait for all of the performances at the Wortham to end before taking us back to the restaurant. I did not enjoy sitting for 30 minutes waiting for the opera to end and all of those people to make their way out of the theater. I would definitely not take the shuttle unless it was to a theater where only one performance was taking place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AffieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damian's Cucina Italiana also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Damian's Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing