We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Houston”
Review of Crapitto's Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crapitto's Cucina Italiana
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Westheimer
Ingram, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Houston”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This little restaurant is excellent. The food is absolutely delicious. Some may find it a little pricey, but once you eat here, you will not complain. The service is perfect and the ambiance is more than you can imagine. This is a long time family restaurant and only gets better each time we visit Houston. We like to go there for special occasions with family members. Try it, you will be surprised.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy56025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My favorite business meeting place”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is, bar none, my favorite place for lunch to do business or enjoy a quiet conversation with a colleague. From the moment I pull up in my car, the valet welcomes me by name (I'm not there often enough for this to happen, but it's a plus), and the hostess is ready. Our table is set in a quiet room and the view to the yard in the back suggests that the city isn't all around you. The menu is ample and the food is great. Lunch is delicious. Dinner is even better. Coffee is hot and delicious. Waiters are eager and helpful. Off Mid Lane, it's a quiet spot in a busy part of the city.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAVLOTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great alternative to all the high-end chains in the Galleria area”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'd rate this higher than Arcodoro the other upscale Italian that is not a chain in the area. On the chain Italian side, though I like it, this rates better than Grotto up the street as well. I've been for both lunch and dinner. Really like the judges salad and the linguini with clams. We've also bought the tomatoes to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we had never liked this restaurant after many tries-but we were invited to a birthday party there and were delighted with the food-and favorably impressed-it has many loyal customers and besides the off putting name of the owner; gave us a very decent meal well prepared with good service-will try again now and order the chicken with artichokes-the salad was very good but highly overdressed-order it on the side, as it was quite good. My husband enjoyed his fish dish as well. Desserts nice. They sell their fresh tomatoes at the counter very nice touch and delicious. worth a visit near the Galleria area. Friendly and casual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

You can't miss with this locally owned gem. The location is great, in the middle of all the action yet feels like miles away. I wish I had purchased some of Frank's homegrown tomatoes to enjoy later.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crapitto's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing