We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep loving this place!!!”
Review of Crapitto's Cucina Italiana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crapitto's Cucina Italiana
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Westheimer
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Keep loving this place!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this place and it seems to be getting even better than before. Recently a friend had luscious grilled scallops on creamed spinach. OMG. I usually order fresh fish, sourced from nearby Seadrift, TX from local fishermen. The TX Gulf Coast oysters are at their freshest right now...and the pasta, ahhhhh....

The owner Frank Crapitto is always there, in fact the family is also there, brother Louie sometimes playing music on the patio. The wine list is newly evolved and the selection is thoughtful and reasonably priced.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to meet and talk over great food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a great time at Crapitto's. The portions were nice and the food was very nice. The salad came with house it's own dressing. Might want to order it on the side, it was 90% vinegar! We also had to sit in the bar as we were late walk in customers. Service wasn't great, but it better in the restaurant. Take what you can get on a short notice. But the food was worth it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheShortList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, TN
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Service and a meal”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our company rented out the restaurant for a weeknight and I enjoyed the evening.

We had drinks on the patio and although there were about 100 of us the wait staff found the person that ordered the drink. I was totally amazed every time they succeeded in finding the correct person. Since it was a nice night the patio was nice but I can see how it would be very hot in the summer.

Dinner service was speedy and practically invisible (in a good way). Our business conversations were continuous and we never felt interrupted by the staff.

The food was good (although I've never had spicy Italian food - the jalapenos should have warned me though) and I'd eat here again. A great experience and it has a great reputation around the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annoddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
150 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“WOW! Hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful family owned Italian with even better fresh, local fish, home grown tomatoes, breads from boutique artisanal Slow Dough Bakery. Romantic old house, loving customer service. My husband proposed here and it just stays great...

Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If the Help were Italian - you'd swear you were There!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Always consistant quality! Charming atmosphere in old 'house'. Reminiscent of some of those on "The Hill" in St Louis. One of the FEW Places in Houston to sit outdoors on a QUIET STREET! The patio is lovely. Go SATURDAYS ONLY for the Osso Bucco - TDF!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RodeWearier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crapitto's Cucina Italiana also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing