We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Filet”

Sullivan's Steakhouse
Ranked #335 of 8,243 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: 610 & Westheimer
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Filet”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The service and food are excellent. They understand high-end steakhouse. The atmosphere was a little old school. But that might be a preference for some.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAllen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I've always enjoyed going to Sullivan's, but this location really stands out. First of all, it has a large live music venue attached, with performances several nights per week. My favorite is Groupo Kache (Latin music) that usually plays once per week. Also, the piano guy in the bar area is unreal- there's nothing he can't play.

Okay, about the food- all of the old favorites are here, but the standouts for me are the Shrimp & Lobster Bisque, the Steakhouse Salad, and the Meatloaf (I've only seen it on the menu at lunch).

And, as you might expect, the steaks are superb.

This location is fun because it has a real nighlife, it's not your typical white tablecloth stuffy dining experience.

Highly Recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FundingPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Classy and Tasty”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I recently visited to celebrate our 7th anniversary. As we entered, the hostess was prepared to seat us; we literally waited maybe 20 seconds before we were escorted to our seats. The waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and comprehensively explained the signature meals, etc. We ordered steaks (porterhouse, and sirloin), baked potato, and onion rings. The wedge salad with blue cheese was delightful and by far the most crisp, fresh, ice cold salad I've had. The steaks were great but not the best I've had. The baked potato and onion rings went very well with the meal and were exceptional. Also the drinks were strong and worth the money. I only needed 1.

The only complaint I have is that our waitress, while talking to use, once left to answer questions of other table and then returned about 7 mins later. I think she should have informed the table that she would speak with them after taking our order or whatever. Nevertheless, the food was great and definitely worth the amount paid (We had the 2 for $78 where you choose your appetizer, meat, side, and dessert). I would definitely return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SO SO SO GOOD!!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The lobster bisque, filet oscar and crab fried rice was all AMAZING!!! I have never had anything bad at Sullivan's and the service is always perfection.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kcv1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Food was marginal. Valet became irate when I wouldn't let him park my car. When I left my car had been broken into (in parking lot) and management did mot want to discuss.

Helpful?
1 Thank mossgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing