We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere”

Churrascos River Oaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Churrascos River Oaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #222 of 8,203 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shepherd
Description: Further south than you have ever been before for dinner.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Restaurant week- $35 a person- 3 course meal great deal- Delicious food. Beef very tender- desserts were delicious. Waiters were attentive!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sfulle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    77
    30
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and ambience never goes out of style”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We went for restaurant week and everything is great.
The food flavorful and excellently prepared as you have come to expect.
Cesar salad appetizer- great!
Shrimp with garlic was good and the steak seasoned to perfection with Brazilian spices.
Great place for a starter date, will be sure to impress

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperACamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Houston gem”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Its a bit ambitious to call this restaurant a gem, but it truly is. It does indeed share a car park with a supermarket and a few other restaurants. So at first glance I wasn't that impressed. Once inside, the hostess did greet us politely, but asked us whether we had reservations. Being a naive tourist, my first response was, "this place requires reservations?" I'm not saying the restaurant wasn't nice but it does share a car park with a supermarket.. But that's where my idea of what might be mediocre ended. The waiter, in these days seldom seen, was a true professional. He was well versed in the house specialties, suave and very attentive. We were served plantain bananas accompanied with a delicious house specialty sauce. I ordered the Scottish grilled salmon, which was superb and my friend ordered their specialty steak. Perfection. Our dessert was also the tres leches. A little sweet but also very good. My only complaint was the restaurant offered a set menu that required us to order a three course meal, which was slightly off putting. But, nonetheless, I loved it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Ambience with Fiery Flavors”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Churrasco's on Westheimer caters to the neighborhood central Houston crowd with a menu full of spicy South American offerings, including a great basic steak - the Churrasco, available in 8, 10, 12 and 16 oz. portions. On a recent visit we ordered the Chicken Tinga appetizer, which was probably the best thing we ate. It features shredded chipotle flavored chicken, celery, avocado, cabbage, pico de gallo & crema on griddled fresh masa corn flatbread. Spicy and fresh with substance!The Queso Diazabal Fondue appetizer featured a smoked Spanish cheese that fell a bit flat and grilled rustic bread that was a little crunchy, but the lumps of crabmeat in the fondue were heaven. The Churrasco 8 oz. was juicy, flavorful and cooked perfectly - one under. Accompanied with roasted potatoes and carrots, this offering is perfect as an entree with a shared appetizer and dessert. The grilled fillet served with the Puntas de Salsa Verde was thin and dry and the mashed potatoes that accompanied the grilled tomato were a little cool. The restaurant was not busy, so it was a surprise to get a steak entree here that's less than perfect. (I was told they are using this location for staff training in preparation for opening a new Churrasco's in the Memorial area, so perhaps that includes cooks and servers). On to dessert, which was the piece de resistance - but an easy offering. The Pio X is a chilled sundae glass with a caramel/bread mixture topped by a rich, thick vanilla pudding. Very delicious with espresso. To present these offerings we enjoyed the very capable and amiable service of our waiter Ricardo, who was perhaps the most charming staff person we encountered during our visit. Bar service was a little weak, as the bartender was in training (he didn't know a McAllen 12 from what he called "Maxwell's" when another guest ordered it, and no lime in the gin and tonic). Very personable, however, as was the manager who stopped at our table to greet us. In all, this was an average meal at a less-than-average price in a venue that needs a little updating. It attracts locals who love the food and have been going there for years, however, and the fiery Brazilian flavors are worth a visit at least once to judge for yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PathMinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
1,551 reviews
957 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 786 helpful votes
“Exceeding expectations all the time”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This place seats in the parking lot of Kroger on Westheimer accross the street from Saint Ann church and always has given us the best customer service and quality of food ever.
Place clean, staff friendly, lots of parking aound and the steaks are always cooked to perfection, chimichurri salsa is great and they have medallion sause which tastes great, chefs are really experts in the culinary and atmosphere is always great. Little expensive so NO to do everyday but special ocassions. A++++++

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrascos River Oaks also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Sugar Land, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Churrascos River Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing