We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best French Fries anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnaby's Cafe

Barnaby's Cafe
Ranked #103 of 8,142 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Neartown/ Montrose
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best French Fries anywhere!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This place cannot do anything wrong. From their tasty salads right down to their thin, crispy and flavorful fries, I can always count on a great meal.

The menu is growing which is somewhat of a concern but as long as they don't screw up the fries, I will continue to be a regular.

Did I mention that their French Fries are fabulous?!?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CocoTT1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    68
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
1,451 reviews
902 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
“Another neighborhood Jem with delicious food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This place is in between the montrose / river oaks area, and carries locals most of the time, management has worked its wonders to keep this place running with excellent customer service skilled employees, the facilities are clean in and outside including restrooms with adequate toilet paper and soap at your disposal. The quality of the food is ALWAYS great and tasty , nothing under or over cooked, it is DELICIOUS. Portions are very big just according to Texas size, we like portions as big as our state.....I HIghly recommend this place to come and eat at anytime, my favorite is the chicken cesar salad, prices are very affordable for a solo or family visit....Place could get a little noisy but that DOES NOT stop you from enjoying the delicious food served here...gets A+++++

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bryanmantezoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
340 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great fun place”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here to eat after flying into Bush International, and was very glad we did. Food was very good and lots of it. I got the turkey sandwich with a side of cinnamon apples. The turkey was sliced thin and piled high. I could only eat half of it. The apples were soft, warm and very favorable. Our only complaint it the restaurant is very loud. It was hard to hear our waiter. The reason must be the ceilings are low and it is kinda small. Also it was very busy. I will go back when in Houston again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Downright Awesome Food!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've been here a couple of times, and I just went again yesterday, so I thought it was high time I wrote a review. I love eating at Barnaby's! You will ready multiple reviews about the wait, and yes you may have to wait a while, but well worth it! And honestly, if you get there early for lunch (11:15, 11:30AM), you usually don't have to wait all that long, if at all.

But the service is very friendly and helpful, and the food is just so tasty! My two favorites on the menu: 1) Chicken caesar salad (if you don't have a big appetite, get the lunch portion because the regular salads are HUGE!), and 2) Grilled turkey burger with french fries - The burger comes with some fantastic pesto which adds another great dimension to the sandwich!

So if you're looking for a great place to have lunch, Barnaby's is the perfect choice! The only downside is it does get rather noisy as the restaurant gets packed, so you may find it hard to have conversations unless you speak loudly. But other than that, two thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FocusedJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Off the chain!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This place was just as other reviewers said, very good food, very good atmosphere, and great service. The ingredients used were not ordinary, they have gone the extra mile to make healthy choices available. We hope you leave your chain restaurant behind and give Barnabys's a try, they deserve it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcsteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnaby's Cafe also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Barnaby's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing