We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best blackened catfish.”

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 8,183 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best blackened catfish.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the place to visit if you like cajun seafood. My husband ordered the blackened catfish with grilled shrimp, oysters and dirty rice. It came with this sauce which was delicious. I ordered the crawfish etouffee which was ok.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    525
    124
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Huge Portions”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently visited Houston where we dined at one of the several Papadeux restaurants in the city. It was a warm saturday evening when we arrived around 6:30 p.m. and were told the wiat would be 45 minutes to an hour. It actually ended up less than 20 minutes, which put us in a good mood. The service was quick once seated and we decided to share the Chilean Mahi entree which was listed as 11 ounces. I'd swear that each of our plates had an 11-ounce piece of fish with full accompaniments. I'm used to getting a few extra veggies when we split, but couldn't believe gthe size of the split fish. When asked about this, the waiter simply replied ... "Remember. This is Texas. Everything's big!" We had enough leftovers for dinner the next evening in our hotel which was equipped with a small kitchen. It was my second visit to a Papadeux restaurant and I will look for more in the Southwest.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went here as a group of colleagues from work. Knowing this was seafood restaurant I was a little worried as I don't actually like seafood! Never mind, majority ruled! Anyway, there was lots on the menu to choose from that wasn't taken out of the ocean.

The size of dishes are absolutely enormous. Don't do what I did and ask for the large version because I was hungry - it took about a solid hour to complete what was on my plate. Ended up very happy and very full.

Service was good and with a smile!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knightdiverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wow !”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I ate her during a recent Southwest layover. This was our first visit to a Pappadeaux and we were really impressed. I had the blackend catfish which was excellent. Probably the best airport meal I have ever had. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FCBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my all time FAVORITES when I'm in the south”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food here is ALWAYS on point! If you're a seafood lover, it's a must try! I'm partial to the seafood "fondeaux", calamari, gumbo and Alaskan king crab legs :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChristyLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing