We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!”
Review of Artista Restaurant

Artista Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Artista Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #367 of 8,207 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Walker/Rusk
Description: A much-anticipated addition to the Houston restaurant scene, Artista offers creative cuisine, impeccable service and a perfect location to downtown Houston entertainment.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Artista is always great whether a business lunch or dinner before seeing a show at the Hobby Center. Management has its act together and most waiters are good. If on a business lunch, let them know how much time you have and they will be sure to honor it. The Design You Own Salad is my favorite..because you select the items, you can't go wrong! Pan Seared Snapper for dinner is excellent. The view of downtown whether day or night is always great as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jas9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    36
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Incredible view and wonderful outdoor terrace overlooking downtown Houston. Great place to go before or after the theatre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad and Worse”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The tasteless food is underlined by the mediocre service. This overpriced place must rely on its location to stay in business. Pass it up for any of the other places near the theatre.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwarren992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
275 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Artista”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We've dined at Artista several times in the past before catching a play at the Hobby Center. The restaurant is elegant and food is good. Not great but ok. The portions are small though and overpriced in my opinion. There are so many other good places in Downtown Houston to chose from, in my opinion. Reef restaurant, Vic & Anthonys to name a couple. I would recommend Artista as more of a place to have a drink before the show but that's it

Helpful?
2 Thank Cameron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently Great Food”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We frequently eat here prior to shows, & we love this restaurant. The churrasco steak is wonderful & can be cut with a spoon. I also enjoy the breaded chicken topped with cheese. Today I ordered the seafood platter with snapper, lobster, scallops, & shrimp. It was amazing. The tres leche cake & chocolate cake are two of the best desserts in Houston. The atmosphere & views of the city are spectacular.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank priluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artista Restaurant also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Artista Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing