We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushis”

Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet
Ranked #873 of 8,207 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sushis”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is really one extraordinary sushi restaurant that I have tried in Houston. There were plenty of varieties so that one can choose what suits him/her best. The restaurant also keeps non sushi Japanese as well as not so Japanese foods for all. I have tried the buffet which is awesome and if I have the chance I will try it again. One thing to note that the sushis are not served in a moving tray which I somewhat expected but the chefs are making them in front of the serving table which you can watch. By the way the buffet is not so expensive and will not break your wallet (14-16 USD) and one will get unlimited sodas.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamal_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent place for the price, variety and price”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I dined there last night and was very impressed all round.
The food was fresh, the service quick and the beer came with a cold mug.

The variety of all the all-you-can eat of hot and cold is immense and the value excellent.

I can't say anymore, but that I'm going again later!

Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chocho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dining at Kirin”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very nice large buffet style restaurant, pricey, but a lot to choose from. The sushi selections were diverse and tasty. I really liked the tempura.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 129HRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed, Crab legs are on ice”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a tough review. The reason we decided on this restaurant was for the crab legs. Big disappointment! We have never been to a place were the crab legs are served cold, on ice. The rest of the food was decent, but overall, we left dissatisfied and upset on the $95.00 we spent for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 6. We will not go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank RBMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
489 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Not the best sushi, not close”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We called ahead because I'm a celiac. I wanted to make sure that it was safe to eat. We explained that I couldn't have MSG or gluten and explained what gluten means. They assured us that it would be fine. The buffet is pricey which I don't mind if it's a good buffet. My husband and son's all agreed that it wasn't good. Once I got there they pretended like no one spoke to me about the celiac. My husband got them to agree to make some sushi rolls fresh for me without gluten and they did. But the language barrier made it impossible to feel safe and limited what I was able to order. The experience left me sad because I hate making a big ordeal of my celiac and I hate a production over food. We won't return and won't recommend it. For those who say the sushi is great, I would have to suggest going to a real sushi restaurant where they specialize in sushi.

Helpful?
1 Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing