We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best sushi, not close” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet

Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet
Ranked #727 of 8,115 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
488 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Not the best sushi, not close”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We called ahead because I'm a celiac. I wanted to make sure that it was safe to eat. We explained that I couldn't have MSG or gluten and explained what gluten means. They assured us that it would be fine. The buffet is pricey which I don't mind if it's a good buffet. My husband and son's all agreed that it wasn't good. Once I got there they pretended like no one spoke to me about the celiac. My husband got them to agree to make some sushi rolls fresh for me without gluten and they did. But the language barrier made it impossible to feel safe and limited what I was able to order. The experience left me sad because I hate making a big ordeal of my celiac and I hate a production over food. We won't return and won't recommend it. For those who say the sushi is great, I would have to suggest going to a real sushi restaurant where they specialize in sushi.

Helpful?
1 Thank gwenbraum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Best sushi buffet in Houston!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Kirin has the best sushi buffet in houston in my opinion. Their regular dishes are also good quality

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank francisvinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Sushi Buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

All the food here is great and fresh. 1st time here. Came for lunch on Good Friday and it was so good. I recommend this place to eat Japaneese food. Sesame Ball are a great dessert. So much sushi to choose from.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oriental Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Craving for crabs? Their King crabs are delicious and serving, none stop, refill. Sashimi and sushi all day - two thumbs up all the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NgetzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“huge dinner buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I dined in for a weekend dinner, and found this to be a very comprehensive spread of Japanese cuisine. There were many rolls and sashimi choices, with the sushi chefs working right at the bar. Fresh & baked oysters, crab, and mussels were also available. The seaweed and squid salads were also fresh and excellent. The quality of all the food was excellent, fresh, and at the proper temperature. My best asian buffet experience yet!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MaCroPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kirin II Japanese Seafood Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing