We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent salad bar”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Madeleine Country French Cafe, Rice Village
Ranked #54 of 93 Bakeries in Houston
Restaurant details
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent salad bar”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

One of the best soup and salad bars in Houston.I keep go every time in that area to have the taste Cesar salad and basil and tomato soup it tasty and cheap.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Outstanding bread, pastries and coffee”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

La Madeleine is a really popular eatery in Rice Village, and it's hard to go wrong by eating there. I have been many times and love this cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lets dine French style”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was my first experience in a French restaurant and it was good. I assumed there would be a restaurant type of service but you order and pick it up but the food was awesome. Good stuff

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been going to the same place for the last 16 years.Little has change other than the staff and some menu items.Obviously French caffe only in name....
We go for the Caesar salad and the tomato basil...of course.Almost always as a " to go" order.Prices are high.Coffe is OK.
All these years I have really wondered why in heavens name they do not have diaper changing accommodations in the toilettes.They did not have it 16 years ago when our fist daughter was a newborn and they still do not have it today last time I checked.
Thank god our kids are grown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IoaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast, lunch, or dinner”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We've eaten at a number of this chain's restaurants over the years, and when we're traveling, if there's one nearby, we'll seek it out. We think the food is good and reasonably priced. If you order from the hot bar, you take your food with you to the table. If you order from the kitchen, a server will bring it out later. In either case, you pay at the register and help yourself to drinks and fresh bread. If you like being waited on, then this place probably isn't for you. On the other hand, if you're not in the mood for the comings and goings of a server, then you'll really enjoy this. La Madeleine's restaurants seem to be really popular for working lunches and for friends who want to spend a long time in uninterrupted conversation.

We like the food at La Madeleine. On our first night, we got made to order omelets. The next night we got quiches from the hot bar. Both were great.

Parking is a little tight at this restaurant. It's located in a small shopping center with several popular stores. You have to compete for parking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine Country French Cafe, Rice Village also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to La Madeleine Country French Cafe, Rice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing