We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip down veggie lane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maharaja Bhog

Maharaja Bhog
Ranked #58 of 8,114 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A trip down veggie lane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Maharaja Bhog was everything I had heard and much more. I took a few friends to this all vegetable place and I have never been happier to be wrong about vegetarian food. In the restaurant the utensils are all steel and a tray is already laid out on the table with about 10 – 12 small bowls. The meal starts with appetizers and sauces that are put in the tray. The servers come to your table with the food in small buckets and pour the food in small portions in the bowls. Note that the dessert is also served alongside the main course dishes. The main course in the small bowls can always be refilled once you finish them. These main courses are served with two or three different styles of chapatti (Indian pita bread). Last but not least towards the middle of the meal they will serve rice along with lentils in the tray. All the dishes served are tasty and the restaurant rotates through these dishes on a regular basis so that you can get a multitude of taste and variety. To boot the restaurant owner personally visit the tables to ensure that everything is alright and you are enjoying the food the way it was meant to be enjoyed. Overall I truly enjoyed the delicious food, the good atmosphere and the cheap price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gillbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A new experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The concept OF Thali is not new in Indian Cuisine but this place has eleavted that exprience by great service and quality of food. Very responsive owners and fast service. A liitle bit expensive for Veggir Indian food though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AIWIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryton, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fun Experience with Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have tried Indian food a couple of times and wasn't very crazy about it. A friend suggested I try Maharaja Bhog and I'm so glad that I did. It was such a fun experience. I didn't have to worry about looking at a menu and figuring out what to order. It's kind of buffet style except they bring the food to you. So you basically get to try a little bit of everything, which was really great because I don't have much experience with Indian food. The staff is very friendly and you can tell that they enjoy teaching people about their food and showing them how to eat it and what pairs together. They were very helpful and made the experience really fun. The food was delicious and I now have a better outlook on Indian cuisine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
251 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Maharaja Bhog, Houston, TX”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very enjoyable. Staff will help you understand how it works and what is what and what to eat with what. No menu, only one meal made of 8 small dishes + one larger dish andsuces, glass of water and glass of milk. All dishes are made of steel. Total cost per personn was less than $20 i believe. Very friendly staff, prompt service, new flavors to discover.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maravalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A new style of Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stumbled across this place by accident, what a great find. I have been twice this week. Both times the restaurant was busy, everyone else there was Indian (I always think that when the pertinent demographic is present at a restaurant it is a good sign). This is like Fogo de Chao except it is vegetarian Indian food. I have had Thalis before at other restaurants but not on this scale. When you first sit down a waiter brings a jug of warm water and a basin for you to wash your hands, do not make the mistake I made and think they are offering you drinking water, I presented my glass only to have the waiter tell me with a smile that it was for hands. At every place there is a stainless steel tray with 8 small stainless steel bowls. These are filled with various entrees, you are also given appetizers, rice and daal, puris, breads and sweets. The food is really tasty and the variety makes for a taste bud safari. You can eat until you're full, the waitstaff circulate and offer more of everything. If you are afraid of the spiciness you can ask for the mild option, they will put a mild "flag" at your table and you will be "protected"! The management and waitstaff are friendly and will stop by for a chat. This is part of an international chain of 4, 2 in Mumbai, 1 in Dubai and now this one in Houston, I was told that Singapore will be the next one. My only negative observation is the outside of the restaurant does not lend itself to the style and cleanliness of the inside, the strip mall it is in does not really make you think that this would be a good place to eat, it is.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chamasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Bhog also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Maharaja Bhog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing