We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good french restaurant in The Galleria area”

Etoile Cuisine et Bar
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/1
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #20 of 8,871 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Great Uptown
Cross street: Post Oak Blvd.
Description: Visit Etoile Cuisine et Bar for an inviting, warm, European environment where fine French food is front and center. Chef Philippe offers a traditional and seasonal menu that changes to offer the freshest produce and ingredients available. Chef Philippe combines his native, regional fare and the idea of fresh, local ingredients with modern food concepts to create distinctive and delicious dishes.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

Etoile is located in the Uptown Park shopping center. Despite the size of the mall there is ample place for parking. The restaurant offers outside/inside seating. The menu is very complete, as well as the wine list. The quality of the food is very good, and you can have any french dish you are thinking of. The wine list is very complete, and the deserts of course, are excellent!!! If you are in the Galleria area and have a craving for good french food, this is the place!!!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank FAM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 166 of 334 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2016

Chef Philippe is an Artist de Cuisine and oversees all aspects of this gem. Fantastic wine list, great appetizers, and either traditional or seasonal entrée offerings. Every time is a memorable meal experience.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Vic777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2016

It is always a "chance" when you visit a restaurant for the first time - particularly on an anniversary! Etoile did not disappoint. Amazingly, it is a really diverse scene - - outdoor dining, a lively (if on this night a bit loud) bar and, yet, a romantic ambience and feel. The food was excellent and the service was spot on. To get a 'broad sampling' we had their multi-course "Charity Dinner"; an interesting concept where they donate to a specific charity each month. We shared each other's meals of Foie Gras | Lobster Risotto appetizers and Lamb | Roasted Duck entrees. Excellent 'across the board'. In a 'restaurant loaded' part of town - - this one can 'hold its own'. We really enjoyed it and will return.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TexasMountainHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here. The ambiance, the food, the excellent service will definitely have us coming back for more! The Raviolis de Champignon is amazing! Desserts are a delight. The wine list is extensive. Treat yourself to a beautiful experience!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2016

We were looking for a nice French restaurant to celebrate a family birthday and were pleased that a Saturday brunch was offered at L'Etoile. Not hard to find in a bit of a maze of shops and restaurants in Uptown Park west of West Loop and north of Post Oak Blvd. Our greeter was friendly and we were seated immediately, about 10 minutes before our reservation. We were not offered outdoor seating so perhaps this must be requested at time of reservation as seating is limited. The dining room was very pretty with chandeliers, wooden bar, table clothes anyway. Fresh bread and butter offered to start. In addition to the Brunch menu, there was also a 'charity menu', a prix fixe 3 course meal (part of the cost is donated to a charity chosen to benefit that day). Service was perfect, very attentive throughout the meal and our server made a special effort to create a vodka martini as well as adding a candle to a dessert when they discovered it was a birthday brunch. We had to try the beignets which were amazingly light and delicious. Our group ordered steak and eggs, eggs benedict and gruyere and mushroom omelette...all very good...none of us cared for the potatoes...oniony flavor and soft. The one dessert we ordered was a pistachio Napoleon pastry with raspberry sorbet - really good. We would all like to return to L'Etoile to sample more of the French dishes on the menu, perhaps for dinner one day.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jamm333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etoile Cuisine et Bar also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Etoile Cuisine et Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.